Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2012, 06:22 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 691
Default

Few flecks of what came out exactly? I hope it's not plastic and metal bits.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2012, 06:36 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: midland, ontario
Posts: 519
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moocow View Post
Few flecks of what came out exactly? I hope it's not plastic and metal bits.
no dust .... blew it both thru the back of the unit where some dust or fluff came out & when I did thru the fan intake nothing came thru the back of the unit. Cleaned everything off of dust residue .. so again so far so good (knock on wood)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2012, 09:57 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 691
Default

Hmmm. This leads to more questions. Would a PSU shut down / restart due to overheating? I have never experience this kind of problem and I had blown out lumps of dust bunnies from my Antec & Enermax before. Or may be dust build up is shorting out the unit some how?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2012, 10:10 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: midland, ontario
Posts: 519
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moocow View Post
Hmmm. This leads to more questions. Would a PSU shut down / restart due to overheating? I have never experience this kind of problem and I had blown out lumps of dust bunnies from my Antec & Enermax before. Or may be dust build up is shorting out the unit some how?
Now I am suspecting it might be a cpu load issue of my chip not gettin enough voltage for the oc I think, just bumped it up abit more & will see if it affects some of my games from instantly closing/dropping on me with no error ..
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2012, 01:47 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: midland, ontario
Posts: 519
Default

Just to update this ... getting random restarts like as if I hit the reset button on the case ... no buzzing in the powersupply ... now occuring randomly. Beliefs that its the power supply ?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2012, 01:52 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,052

My System Specs

Default

No BSOD's or anything showing up for Dump Files?
If so, then it is possible.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2012, 02:00 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,228

My System Specs

Default

Kinda hard to pin that one down. Best case scenario is to borrow a psu to use for a while to see if you can eliminate the restarts.

I vote we (HWC) keep spare parts in circulation for members to borrow for trouble shooting purposes. Lemmesee now, one spare kit for the east and one spare kit for the west, ya that outta do it.


Right now for the west I have one spare psu and one spare X79 mobo and I could prolly spare a little DDR3 if I had to.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2012, 02:16 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: midland, ontario
Posts: 519
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
No BSOD's or anything showing up for Dump Files?
If so, then it is possible.

-ST

Well the next thing im thinkin about doin is disconnecting the reset cable to see if its a short there as the possiblity ... but i've had it occure on idle n on load in a game ....

I've posted on corsairs forum to see my next move cause i dont think my hardware oc'ed is taxin the ps ..
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2012, 02:29 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: midland, ontario
Posts: 519
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
Kinda hard to pin that one down. Best case scenario is to borrow a psu to use for a while to see if you can eliminate the restarts.

I vote we (HWC) keep spare parts in circulation for members to borrow for trouble shooting purposes. Lemmesee now, one spare kit for the east and one spare kit for the west, ya that outta do it.


Right now for the west I have one spare psu and one spare X79 mobo and I could prolly spare a little DDR3 if I had to.
That would be a great idea if we could have some kinda honor system in doin so ...

Worst part for me is the funds i could have had to get a new 1 are prettymuch next to nill for a addiquite leveled one ..
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2012, 03:31 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,228

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrybear View Post
That would be a great idea if we could have some kinda honor system in doin so ...

Worst part for me is the funds i could have had to get a new 1 are prettymuch next to nill for a addiquite leveled one ..
I hear ya there. Just pretty much blew my budget troubleshooting my rig and it so far is not conclusive. Could have fixed it with what I spent on the wrong (maybe) parts.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buzzing Sound while using Mic Chos3n Troubleshooting 11 November 17, 2011 08:24 PM
need powersupply help severity New Builds 4 December 2, 2010 04:10 PM
5.1 Speakers Buzzing out :( Rocco_360 Troubleshooting 13 June 16, 2009 05:31 PM
Need a 12V Powersupply Cptn Vortex Power Supplies 8 January 12, 2009 04:48 PM