Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2012, 08:33 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default BSOD.. Need help

Ok guys, recently put together a build, testing it out open bench. But I keep hitting a BSOD randomly while even downloading apps..

The bug code is 0x00000124, I tried using a program to check the dump file, and it came to tell me it's getting caused by hal.dll.

I'm currently running memtest on it. I did the sfc /scannow thing, which obviously didn't pick up anything. Is there anything I can try to rule out hardware?
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2012, 08:42 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,842

My System Specs

Default

Apparently a very generic code..

Stop 0x124 - what it means and what to try - Windows 7 Forums
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2012, 08:48 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,661
Default

hdd test as well.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2012, 08:56 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,842

My System Specs

Default

Check your voltage is ok on the ram... hear that quite often that auto under powers it..
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2012, 09:16 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

It would help if I give the specs..

i5 3570k @ stock
Corsair 1600mhz 2 x 4GB
Asus Maximus V Gene
8800gtx (just for testing the system)
Crucial M4 128GB
No HDD just yet..

Ok so memtest about an hour (yes I cheated), to issues on memory.
What do I use to test the SSD?

Dzzope I'll check that, browsing on google, saw few posts on mem voltage ..
I'm wondering if the video drivers may cause this? I'm using the stock windows drivers for the 8800gtx, I haven't actually installed the nvidia ones.
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2012, 09:28 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,407

My System Specs

Default

It could be something as simple as your memory timings not being correct. if nothing is overclocked that is what I would do is go an manually set your memory times and voltage. my old system was like that my memory was finicky and I was constantly getting BSOD then someone said to do that and I never had another problem maybe that is what is going on with you
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2012, 09:35 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Hm.. I just did that, set the XMP profile.
Although, as soon as I start intel burn test, it BSODs again.. I wonder if the board is problem..

edit: I just remember that I recently updated to latest BIOS, I don't recall having any issues before, however, I installed a crap load of microsoft updates after that too..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2012, 12:04 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Hmm.. I've tried all I could.. I searched around google, and came to find out that there is a .net service that eats up at least 75% cpu process, and true enough, I noticed it..
Disabled it.

I then ran intel burns test, normal test, 10x from safe mode, that passes fine. But as soon as I do it from normal mode, windows crashes and BSOD.. so far I tested memory, hdd (using hdtune), no issues.

I also ran OCCT power supply tester, and bsod again.. looks like any kind of load on the system in normal mode, crashes the system..

Maybe BIOS settings, really need some hardware guru to help me. Does those CPU C1E, C3 and C6 settings affect anything. I'll try running memtest throughout the night, just to be sure it's not the memory
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution

Last edited by miggs78; August 31, 2012 at 12:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2012, 12:38 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Saskatoon
Posts: 162
Default

I had a bad memory slot on my Maximus V Gene, it might be worthwhile to stress with one stick at a time.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2012, 10:58 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

OK i tested both RAM sticks on all 4 slots, tested overnight with memtest86, which didn't see a single drop. Also disabled the CE options in BIOS, I still see crashes.
Any other device folks.. please
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD ghotichoooder Troubleshooting 2 December 10, 2011 11:41 AM
AVR off = BSOD... turtletrax HTPC Systems & Software 0 November 11, 2011 09:54 PM
BSOD Dar_ell Troubleshooting 2 August 12, 2010 01:51 PM
BSOD help! no_pulse O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 September 20, 2009 07:23 PM
Help with BSOD plz Rocco_360 Troubleshooting 9 June 21, 2009 09:34 AM