Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2012, 06:52 PM
RVR RVR is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Elmhurst, IL
Posts: 2

My System Specs

Post Power Button Doesn't Work, but Power Button on Motherboard Does!

Hi guys,

I recently overclocked my CPU and I've run into a problem. It was running great last night, but when I tried to turn it on today it wouldn't start... BUT I pushed the power button on the ASUS mobo and was able to reset the BIOS. Now everything will turn on and function normally - just not using the power button.

I have to leave my computer case open and push the power button from the motherboard to just turn on the computer...

Any suggestions on what else I should be checking for?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2012, 06:56 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 25
Default

Check the cable that connects the power button to the motherboard and make sure that it's seated properly on the motherboard pins. It may have accidentally come loose.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2012, 05:35 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

Do you know if the motherboard's switch header actually works? Plug the switch from another case (or your current case's reset button) if you have one, or a jumper from an old hard drive into the motherboard and see if that works to turn on your computer:


__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2012, 10:22 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,302

My System Specs

Default

I am thinking that maybe you bumped the PC and the power wires came off of the motherboard, or ,which I never have seen personally , the power switch itself is toast.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2012, 10:32 AM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,984

My System Specs

Default

use the reset button and plug it in to the power pins. I've built 2 computers now that have had defective power buttons.
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2012, 09:20 AM
RVR RVR is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Elmhurst, IL
Posts: 2

My System Specs

Default

Thank you for the help guys. It turns out some of the connectors were disconnected. I feel dumb haha
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broken power button moocow Cases 1 April 30, 2012 09:44 PM
Power Button Doesn't Work, but Power Button on Motherboard Does! Stock Troubleshooting 4 June 25, 2010 07:53 AM
computer without a case power button matsta31 CPU's and Motherboards 22 February 20, 2010 01:19 PM
Asus P6T power up with button on case Tiger CPU's and Motherboards 4 August 23, 2009 08:17 AM
power/reset button and cable magictorch Cases 2 November 28, 2007 12:09 PM