Hardware Canucks

Hardware Canucks (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/)
-   Troubleshooting (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/troubleshooting/)
-   -   A Genuine Call For Help (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/troubleshooting/56204-genuine-call-help.html)

PcWizTech August 20, 2012 09:15 AM

A Genuine Call For Help

Hello everybody,

After alot of troubleshooting, i thought id finally just create this thread. Now, i warn everyone that this may be a long thread and that i must not keep anything to myself no matter how embarrasing or shameful my actions really were.

Lets start off with my situation, im a high school student and finally buy my dream pc. My dream was not only to buy it, but to build it. My father steps into the picture (being an electronic tech) and pretty much does 99% of the work. Although I appreciate it deep inside, and although i know he was doing the right thing, i wanted to do this myself, and use it as a learning experience.

The build was great, ran fast, and no problems whatsoever except for cabling. The cabling management was horrible, simply horrible. Seeing it was my money, my build, i decided to do some management myself. This was and i say it now, my horrible mistake. Not knowing what i was doing, i accidentally connected a cable that says "pcie' or "pcie" into my graphics card. I had a power cable in the 8-pin slot (there from my father), but i inserted a cable that has 6 pins + 2 pins hanging on the side from it. I thought that the extra 2 pins were optional so i inserted that into the 6 pin only slot the the right of the 8 pin slot of my MSI R7950 graphics card.

I attempted to boot my pc and it would not boot, it flashed once and immediately turned off. I though " dammit, i just ruined it". Yes, i should have listened to my father, but i didn't.