Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2012, 12:27 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 115
Default Black Screen with transparent horizontal waves after installing a new video card

I just got a Powercolor HD7850 and installed the video card.
Everything is fine and I like the performance of the card but when the monitor shows a lot of black it appears to have non-ending, transparent waves moving down towards the bottom.
How do I fix this? My monitor is a bit old (Samsung 173v) so I have use VGA to DVI connector to my video card.
Thanks.
__________________
Desktop:

Core i7 920 on EVGA X58 @ 3.95GHZ
Noctua NH U12P 1366
OCZ DDR3 Triple Channel Gold Version 6GB (8-8-8-24)
EVGA GTX 260SC
Windows Vista Ultimate X64
750GB Hardisk
Antec P182 Case: Quiet but not very good for cooling

Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad SL500
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2012, 04:23 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,955
Default

check what refresh rate running, default is 60hz
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2012, 11:36 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 115
Default

Adjusting refresh rate didn't solve the problem but thank you.
__________________
Desktop:

Core i7 920 on EVGA X58 @ 3.95GHZ
Noctua NH U12P 1366
OCZ DDR3 Triple Channel Gold Version 6GB (8-8-8-24)
EVGA GTX 260SC
Windows Vista Ultimate X64
750GB Hardisk
Antec P182 Case: Quiet but not very good for cooling

Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad SL500
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2012, 01:59 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 724
Default

Possible lose cables and VGA-DVI adapter. If not then reset the video card but it does sound like a video card problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2012, 01:07 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,826

My System Specs

Default

Possibly the monitor?

Check it on another machine or try another monitor on your system to be sure..

An odd problem but if it's not the monitor then my first guesses would be the nvidia drivers from your last card are interfering.. clean em out properly (driversweeper etc, there should be a detailed post in the video card section)
Power may not be as clean as the card would like?
obviously check connections etc

If all this doesn't fix it then I would RMA it and go back to nvidia. :P
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2012, 10:42 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 115
Default

I used driversweeper to remove any Nvidia related driver for the last video card.
Do you think it's the monitor? This monitor is over 8 years old. I tried different refresh rate for the monitor but it's the same.
For PSU I use Corsair 1000W and I think it's more than enough. The video card itself is fine.
It runs very cool and brings nice performance. This is my first time using ATI video card.
I will try a different monitor and see how it will work.
__________________
Desktop:

Core i7 920 on EVGA X58 @ 3.95GHZ
Noctua NH U12P 1366
OCZ DDR3 Triple Channel Gold Version 6GB (8-8-8-24)
EVGA GTX 260SC
Windows Vista Ultimate X64
750GB Hardisk
Antec P182 Case: Quiet but not very good for cooling

Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad SL500
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2012, 03:32 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 60

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by appplejack View Post
I used driversweeper to remove any Nvidia related driver for the last video card.
Do you think it's the monitor? This monitor is over 8 years old. I tried different refresh rate for the monitor but it's the same.
For PSU I use Corsair 1000W and I think it's more than enough. The video card itself is fine.
It runs very cool and brings nice performance. This is my first time using ATI video card.
I will try a different monitor and see how it will work.
There are a number of things that can cause this, but it very much depends on the circumstances. It could be a faulty graphics card, but I don't think that's likely as if the card was faulty, you would mostly likely get graphical artifacts as well other than just horizontal lines.

It's also not likely to be a power nor power connection issue. For 1, your PSU is more than capable enough to drive that graphics card. And if it was a power connection issue, you most likely wouldn't get any video at all, and get multiple and protracted beeps from the motherboard at startup to warn that there's a power issue with the graphics card.

This is most likely an issue with either the VGA cable or the DVI to VGA adapter. DVI is digital and VGA is analogue, so horizontal transparent banding when using a digital display using a digital connection should never happen. But it can happen using analogue, which is what VGA is. I would check the VGA cable on you monitor and the DVI-VGA adapter. Make there aren't any bent/broken/damaged pins on both the cable and adapter. When connecting cable and adapter, make sure they are properly and "securely" connected and tightened, but don't over do it as you could accidentally damage the fasteners. If problem persists, try a different adapter if you have one. And if still occurring, try a different VGA cable if you have one. If all else fails, try a different monitor to test if you have one.

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black or Green screen Toyuko Troubleshooting 1 July 8, 2012 07:05 PM
how to transparent in PAINT.NET? hohohee Off Topic 0 December 31, 2011 10:12 PM
Black Screen?? Soultribunal Troubleshooting 10 October 31, 2010 04:36 PM
Black Screen Arinoth Troubleshooting 4 September 26, 2009 10:06 AM
Black screen !!! Need Help toni_0177 Troubleshooting 10 August 29, 2008 10:22 PM