Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2008, 08:50 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default Motherboard not posting

I actually was trying to OC my system last night, went into BIOS and changed settings, rebooted... And thats it..

It won't Post at all, no beeps even, the fans move, cpu fan moves, I took the memory sticks, and took one and put it in a different slot, tried them all. Tried even a different set of RAM, individual stick..

Resetting the CMOS, cleared the jumpers, even took out the Battery.. I think the memory controllers are dead..

I bought it from Direct Canada, um.. it directed me here surprisingly.. Place I love lol..

I will probably RMA it, but before that any suggestions please :help:
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2008, 08:52 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,521

My System Specs

Default

Need some system information..... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2008, 09:26 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Need some system information..... :)
Ooops sorry

Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
ASUS P5N32-E SLI Nforce 680I
Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2 PC2-8500 2GB (2X1GB) DDR2-1066
Evga 8800GTS 512MB
WD 250GBx4 RAID 0 (WD250KS), Seagate 500GB SATA2.
Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000w

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2008, 06:45 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Any one please ?? :help::help:
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2008, 07:08 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,642

My System Specs

Default

I had 3 blown memory controllers on 680i boards... no beeps are usually not a good sign. Really not good.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2008, 07:58 AM
bushwhacker's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lake of the Woods
Posts: 286
Default Another Asux product by the sounds of it ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by miggs78 View Post
ASUS P5N32-E SLI Nforce 680I
Using the pathetically slow and convoluted linking on the Asux site to review the specs and manual - it looks like this board *supposedly* has advanced features for recovering from your problem.

" C.P.R.(CPU Parameter Recall)
When the system hangs due to overclocking failure, there is no need to open the case to clear CMOS data. Just simply restart the system, the BIOS would show the previous setting and then users can amend the CPU setting again."

Also, the manual indicates that "during POST the BIOS beeps (see BIOS beep codes table below)". There is no table below ....

If the SYSTEM speaker is connected and working you should be getting beeps. If not, I would RMA without further waste of time as the board isn't performing to spec.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2008, 08:06 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Sounds like dead board. :(
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2008, 09:42 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 49
Default

If it was working flawlessly before the OC attempt , something blew..... Test (if possible) PSU , Ram etc with another board/system if possible to ensure there wasn't a component failure if it checks out you will be doing a RMA on that board unfortunately.

Good Luck

Last edited by LooseCannon; April 17, 2008 at 09:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2008, 05:08 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
Sounds like dead board. :(

Maybe your right, but the board does turn on, just no beep or POST, I think its the memory controller. Since its the first time gonna RMA the board, I bought it from direct canada, do I contact Asus or DC for RMA..


I hope they send me a 780i instead
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2008, 06:48 PM
bushwhacker's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lake of the Woods
Posts: 286
Default are you SURE ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by miggs78 View Post
Maybe your right, but the board does turn on, just no beep or POST, I think its the memory controller.
Reviewing another thread showed that incompatible RAM will produce the same result you are getting. Removing ALL RAM and booting should then result in a beep code indicating No Memory.
What is the response from your system with NO RAM?
Remove the CPU and/or video card - attempt to POST - again you should get beep codes indicating such. If you get no beeps under any circumstance .... have you got the system speaker plugged in properly ... and confirm it's functionality w. another board.

For RMA procedures look here
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes