Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2012, 04:31 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 17
Default Help! Computer won't turn on!

I have a CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W ATX 12V 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC High Performance Power Supply and today was working fine but until I turn the computer off, it won't turn back on even the flickers behind the power supply won't work. Could it be the motherboard or should I unplug and reconnect everything! Help me.

computer specs

Asrock z68 pro 3 gen 3 intel LGA 1155 motherboard
Intel i7 2600k
16gb ram Corsair Vengeance
m4 crucial 128gb ssd
Amd Firepro v5900 graphics card
Western Digital Caviar Blue 500gb 7200 rpm SATA 6.0GB/ 3.5 internal hard drive
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2012, 06:21 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: 44N by 79W
Posts: 358
Default

That motherboard should have LED lights that turn on when the power supply is on, are they lit? If they are not lit then either the power supply is not connected to the motherboard at all or the power supply has died. Stupid question of course, but you have the switch on the back of the power supply turned to the on position right?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2012, 06:43 AM
Ravenor's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Posts: 169

My System Specs

Default

is it possibly plugged into a powerbar that has a separate on/off that is switched off? How old is the TX750? You may want to open the case and re-seat all of the motherboard connectors to make sure something didn't come loose.
__________________
How am I suppose to act randomly without some direction? Anyone? Bueller? - Deadpool
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2012, 08:05 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 17
Default

I just tested the power supply alone and it works, YAY!!, but now I'm thinking is it the motherboard?? I'm going to reconnect the motherboard and see what happens
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2012, 08:37 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 17
Default

I reconnected everything and nothing works. Its frustrating me, can anyone tell me whats going on?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2012, 10:08 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 691
Default

There are literally dozens of reasons why a board won't turn on. But if it was working fine but then suddenly didn't, I would say possible CPU or motherboard. Did you put the power supply in another computer to test? If so, can you use it to test other components? If you're really short on time, then just buy another board, RMA the current one, and sell it here when it comes back from RMA. Yes, you will lose some money but save some down time.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2012, 03:38 AM
bigFOIG's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

Check if the power button cable is plugged in all the way. It's one of this tiny wire usually located at the bottom right of your motherboard. Or if your motherboard has a power button directly on the board, try that.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2012, 04:51 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,228

My System Specs

Default

Read this, it may help...

ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Forum- ****************************Bad BIOS Flash and Dead Board Testing. ***** ALL Boards *****
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2012, 07:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 17
Default


I tried to clear cmos with a jumper for 5 seconds but the lights came on for 3 seconds but then shut off completely. Oh and this post should I try this method for ten minutes or is this method too old for my motherboard asrock z68 pro3 gen3
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2012, 01:56 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 17
Default

Problem solved!!, I took out the CMOS Battery for between 4 or 5 minutes and the motherboard is restored and put the bios to ACHI instead of IDE, one more question should I enable or disable the Hard drive smart? I have a Crucial 128gb SSD and 320GB Hard Drive, Thank you everyone for your help.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer won't turn at all! eltiti55555 Troubleshooting 22 July 6, 2012 06:36 PM
PC won't turn off... GT7R Troubleshooting 19 April 29, 2012 11:28 AM
Why Does my computer Turn Off KSiG CPU's and Motherboards 8 April 4, 2012 05:56 PM
[SOLVED] Computer turned on 1st time, but will not turn on again. tybeet Troubleshooting 12 September 8, 2010 06:14 PM
My turn to ask for help Cptn Vortex Troubleshooting 17 March 23, 2008 01:05 PM