Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2012, 02:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 12

My System Specs

Default Upgrades have little to no Performance?

I recently upgraded my Mobo, CPU, Cooling system, and RAM. I have no noticeable performance upgrade! There must be something wrong here. Please help!

New Mobo: Asus Rampage Gene IV X79 Chipset
New Ram: 24Gb Corsair Vengeance triple channel
New CPU: Core I7 3820 3.6Ghz 2011 Socket
New Cooling: XSPC Rasa water block with 450 pump.
OS: Windows 7 64 Bit Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2012, 02:42 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 691
Default

No performance gain in what exactly? Are you talking about games or some other application?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2012, 02:43 PM
Slik's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sault Ste Marie On.
Posts: 1,034

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xjac0bmichaelX View Post
I recently upgraded my Mobo, CPU, Cooling system, and RAM. I have no noticeable performance upgrade! There must be something wrong here. Please help!

New Mobo: Asus Rampage Gene IV X79 Chipset
New Ram: 24Gb Corsair Vengeance triple channel
New CPU: Core I7 3820 3.6Ghz 2011 Socket
New Cooling: XSPC Rasa water block with 450 pump.
OS: Windows 7 64 Bit Ultimate
What did you upgrade from? What performance did you have prior?
__________________
Corsair Air 540 -i7 4930k @ 4.4ghz. Liquid cooled-4x4gb G Skill Trident X DDR3@ 2400mhz- Two EVGA Titans SLI - Xonar Phoebus Sound Card-Dell 3008 30" Monitor-Razer Tiamat Headphones-Butt Kicker Gamer-TrackIR 5
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2012, 02:43 PM
NSdeadly1's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Amherst, Nova Scotia
Posts: 238

My System Specs

Default

What was your previous set up? How is the system behaving? What is your system being used for? Without knowing the particulars it's quite hard for anyone to give advice as to if there is a problem or not.

Ninja'd
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2012, 02:45 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,228

My System Specs

Default

What did you have before? What are you using your computer for? Did you run any benchmarks prior to upgrading and compare them with your new setup? Unless you are running cpu intensive tasks you may not notice anything.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2012, 03:07 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,545

My System Specs

Default

If your talking about gaming.. then you'll notice very little difference in most games till you upgrade your graphics card..

This was said in your original thread for the retrofit.. also what CPU did you upgrade from?

P.S. 2011 is quad not tri-channel. you should really be running 4 sticks of ram.. but out-side of benches I doubt you'll see much difference (correct me if I'm wrong guys)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2012, 03:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 12

My System Specs

Default

Sorry, I upgraded from a ASUS P5QPL-VM EPU LGA 775 Motherboard and Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16GHz with stock fan. And OCZ Gold 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 800.

No bench-marking done, but gaming and just multitasking seems maybe even worst now.

I just feel like the new socket + X79 chipset should be overwhelmingly different with that much ram and OS running on a Corsair Force GT SSD.

Am I bottle-necked somewhere? Maybe some settings are incorrect in BIOS? I feel like it shouldn't have none responsive programs while only doing a few things at once? Also has slow boot....

Last edited by Xjac0bmichaelX; July 30, 2012 at 03:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2012, 03:31 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 12

My System Specs

Default

It's getting a PCmark score of 5310 with these oc settings. I'm very new to this, any comments are appreciated.

https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B7V...ExUaEpLdW5PREE

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2012, 04:01 PM
NSdeadly1's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Amherst, Nova Scotia
Posts: 238

My System Specs

Default

Did you set your Sata to AHCI mode in the bios and do you have the ssd connect to a Sata 6gbs port?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2012, 04:31 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 12

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NSdeadly1 View Post
Did you set your Sata to AHCI mode in the bios and do you have the ssd connect to a Sata 6gbs port?
Yes and Yes
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
2011 , 3820 , gene , x79 , xspc

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrades FrostbittinHD Video Cards 12 March 29, 2012 09:40 PM
Getting a few Upgrades on my PC DXStriker New Builds 1 October 28, 2011 01:57 PM
PC upgrades bassplayerdave New Builds 0 October 15, 2010 11:42 AM
MLC High Performance SSD-CORSAIR Performance Series 128GB PC/NB Dual Platform Test windwithme Storage 2 April 10, 2010 07:44 AM