Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2012, 03:48 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 23
Default

I posted something here earlier that still hasnt shown up. Had links and images.

What do you mean exactly?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2012, 05:43 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,776

My System Specs

Default

Basically, your resolution is so low, the card doesn't need to run any faster.. This will probably apply to the vast majority if not all games and would still apply (though not as much) if you upgraded the monitor/tv to 1920x1080

the 70 fps is probably as high as your cpu will do

70 fps is more than you need especially on the 768 TV..
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2012, 08:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 23
Default

what about when i run the game on just my 1600x900 resolution monitor and nothing changes, still was only getting 70ish fps and my power % stayed the same. GPU clock speeds only raise to 1228MHz (either my tv or monitor) and my gpu usage never hits higher than 70%. shouldnt that max out no matter what? My old card did.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2012, 11:59 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,776

My System Specs

Default

Nope, you have so much horsepower that it will get where the system can run and that will be as far as it will go..

If you can get your hands on a third monitor or a large res one try that and report back.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2012, 05:59 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,659
Default

Think of it this way: it is up to the CPU to process frames going towards the GPU as the GPU asks for them. If the CPU can't keep up with the draw calls from the GPU, part of the GPU sits at idle since it is not being fed with enough frames to keep it fully occupied.

Your old card on the other hand could not process frames as quickly as your new card, therefore the CPU was able to keep up with it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2012, 11:28 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 23
Default

But my CPU Usage is never above 65ish% while playing any games?
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2012, 12:14 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,659
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by .Head_Shot. View Post
But my CPU Usage is never above 65ish% while playing any games?
it wouldn't be since the game isn't optimized to run across all of its cores. As such, some cores will be fully loaded while others will remain idle.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2012, 01:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 23
Default

So i need a more powerful CPU in order to use more of my GPU?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2012, 03:27 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,659
Default

At lower resolutions, yes.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2012, 08:25 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,776

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by .Head_Shot. View Post
So i need a more powerful CPU in order to use more of my GPU?
As Sky said, yes (at lower res) but then your getting 70fps and you won't see anything more especially with your current screens.


At higher resolutions, your cpu still has to do the same but the GPU needs to do more. So if you get a higher res screen you should still see the same fame rate but the GPU usage will go up.

This is why I was suggesting trying to use either a higher res screen or use another screen (with the game displayed on all of them) to see what happens for yourself.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] ASUS P8P67 WS REVOLUTION or ASUS MAXIMUS IV EXTREME (REV 3.0) OmegaRED Buy/Sell & Trade 8 November 17, 2011 08:33 AM
Gamers Working Wonders in Finding Protein Structures jay51 Off Topic 7 September 19, 2010 09:07 PM
ASUS p6x58D Premium versus Asus Rampage Extreme III Timid newbe New Builds 2 August 17, 2010 01:09 PM
Installing SSD & W7 (Using Asus Recovery Disc) On Asus G51J Notebooks rjbarker Mobile Computing 0 February 19, 2010 11:36 AM
ASUS Rampage Extreme or ASUS Maximus II Formula AmuseMe CPU's and Motherboards 3 July 20, 2009 09:46 AM