Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2012, 10:28 PM
le2key's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: BC
Posts: 113
Default SSD performance as BOOT Drive

Hi, I recently bought an OCZ Vertex 4 256gb and currently using it as a boot drive. Everything is dandy, boots up real quick and system seems a lot snappier.

I decided to do some benchmarks (AS SSD) for kicks and to my dismay found that the sequential read/write speeds are in the mid 100mbs, way lower than the advertised/reviewed 500mbs.

I benchmarked my older, empty SSD (Adata S596 turbo in SATA2) and found that everything was in line with the advertised/reviewed speeds. So I'm wondering if the low seq speeds is due to me using the drive as a boot drive or is there something wrong?

As far as I can tell, I've updated/installed all the necessary drivers/bios/utilities. (Controller settings @ AHCI)

I've figured there are three things going on:

1. The drive is dirty from all the window updates/installation and needs to go through trim/garbage collection.

2. SATA3 is working improperly.

3. Using the drive as a boot drive heavily reduces sequential read/write speeds.


Any help at all would be appreciated, really scratching my head here.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2012, 10:34 PM
Entilza's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 108

My System Specs

Default

Im using this ssd as a boot drive, with older Sata 2 and I am getting good performance as much as sata 2 can offer =P (273mb/s read 266 write)

Did you install firmware 1.5? It's destructive from 1.3 -> 1.4 be careful.

Try crystal DiskMark?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2012, 10:41 PM
le2key's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: BC
Posts: 113
Default

sheaa i already updated the firmware to 1.5, and i was getting worst seq speeds with crystal diskmark thats why i tried AS SSD; dang this is just whack.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2012, 10:44 PM
Entilza's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 108

My System Specs

Default

Ouch hmm you try another Sata 3 port? make sure its in the 6gb port..

I do have the 128gb drive though so not sure...

Defrag the OS Drive before u try again?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2012, 10:59 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,660
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Entilza View Post
Ouch hmm you try another Sata 3 port? make sure its in the 6gb port..

I do have the 128gb drive though so not sure...

Defrag the OS Drive before u try again?
Uh........ you don't defrag a SSD drive
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2012, 11:09 PM
le2key's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: BC
Posts: 113
Default

i sort of figured it out, i'm getting 270mb/s on the sata2 ports almost twice as fast as the sata3s. apparently the marvell chip on my current MB is crap - gonna head over to OCZ for optimized settings.


thanks
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2012, 08:42 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,361
Default

Yeah. The Marvell chip is indeed crap AND you SSD was not getting the TRIM command. So your drive went into a classic degraded state. A sanitary erase will get it back out of it. Then restore from backup. Usually a destructive firmware update will do the same...but use the OCZ toolbox, sani erase it. Quick format it and then restore from backup....and you will be golden...as long as you use a port that can pass the TRIM command.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer. - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best SSD for Boot Drive? Charmster Storage 5 April 3, 2012 06:22 PM
Installing a SSD boot drive and keeping pre-existing drive as it was??? Painbringer71 Storage 4 November 22, 2011 04:55 PM
SSD as boot drive Hard drive as storage Linus LinusTechTips Q&A 0 September 27, 2011 01:57 PM
GA P55 + USB boot drive martin_metal_88 Troubleshooting 7 December 7, 2009 08:20 PM
SSD as boot drive phil3_66666 Storage 16 July 23, 2009 11:18 AM