Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2012, 03:20 PM
ultraman7k's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 527

My System Specs

Default Helping out a co-worker's son

So I agreed to help out a co-worker's son to try and fix his computer problems, which he got for a $25 tim card lol.

The set up:

some kind of AM2+ socket processor by the looks of it
512 or 1 GB of DDR2-800 ram. None of the sticks indicated. He had 2 sticks.
EVGA GT 250 512mb GPU
600w Coolermaster PSU
WD HDD, didn't look at size.

Problem:

No monitor output.

Initial guess was faulty GPU or PSU, but everything powered up correctly. Though he did indicate to me that the blue indicator on the front power button used to light up, which it doesn't any more.

Tried pulling out the GPU and using the MOBO VGA out, still no monitor output on either. Tried a different monitor in case it might have been his display, but it wasn't.

Plugged in speakers, hoping to hear Window's chime but nothing.
Pulled out MOBO battery.
Tried booting with 1 stick of ram, in slots, alternated sticks and slots.
Tried an alternate SATA connector.

My conclusion in this is that it is the mobo that's fried? I'm not getting any POST beeps either, and I can hear the hard drive spooling...

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2012, 03:24 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,796

My System Specs

Default

You tried a different monitor, but did you try a different cable? Did you do a cmos reset as well as pulling the battery?

Best place to start is to get the model number of the motherboard so that you can grab a manual off of the `net for things like the speaker pin outs.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2012, 04:18 PM
ultraman7k's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 527

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
You tried a different monitor, but did you try a different cable? Did you do a cmos reset as well as pulling the battery?

Best place to start is to get the model number of the motherboard so that you can grab a manual off of the `net for things like the speaker pin outs.
Yep. Did the CMOS/battery, tried a different monitor cable, no avail. Found the manual, the motherboard is an ECS GeForce 6100SM-M2 (AM2, not AM2+ as I originally thought).

Don't have a speaker on me for the pins at the moment, but I don't think it's getting past that point anyways. Kind of hard to tell without it outputting anything to display.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2012, 05:51 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

I bet one of the rails on the PSU has failed.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2012, 06:02 PM
Funguseater's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 49

My System Specs

Default

Hi Ultraman7k

Just a couple of ideas..

1 Do you have a multi-meter to test the output of the power supply? or Do you have another PSU to try, I have found that most PC hardware problems relate to poor quality/old PSU's If its an AM2 board that PSU could have been around for quite some time. Just because the fans are spinning doesn't mean its getting enough juice to propperly run.

2 I would remove the CPU check for bent pins/reapply TIM and re-seat the CPU/Heatsink.

3 Set up the system on a table, not in the case (easier to test this way). If the system starts then you know it is just a matter of carefully rebuilding the PC and maybe looking for a shorted wire?

Just some things I would try... good luck.
Fungi
__________________
There are so many things that I don't understand.
There's a world within me that I cannot explain.
Many rooms to explore, but the doors look the same.
I am lost I can't even remember my name.


Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2012, 06:03 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Does the motherboard HAVE a speaker? Cause most times you need to hook one up yourself to hear ANY bios beeps
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2012, 06:21 PM
Funguseater's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 49

My System Specs

Default

Hi, so I noticed new egg came up when I googled this board, you should take a look. Seems like a lot of people were having issues, memory slots failing and wierd cpu problems

Fungi
__________________
There are so many things that I don't understand.
There's a world within me that I cannot explain.
Many rooms to explore, but the doors look the same.
I am lost I can't even remember my name.


Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2012, 09:54 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

Seems par for the course for a Gigabyte board....
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2012, 07:11 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,909

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
Seems par for the course for a Gigabyte board....
Except that it's an ECS...

get a speaker for the post beeps... if still no beeps then cpu / board would be the main guess..
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2012, 08:27 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tillsonburg, Ontario
Posts: 917

My System Specs

Default

For sure need to hear the post beeps, I also have a machine like this (older one) that I need to work on sooner or later lol and have the same issue won't show any screen but seems to power up fine. I just need to throw a little 4 pin speaker on there so I can hear and hopefully go from there :)
__________________


Comp1 (Mine) : ASUS P9X79 LE, 3960X, 16GB Corsair Vengence 1333, PNY 770 4GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, OCZ Vertex3 480GB, 600GB VelociRaptor, Corsair 1000HX, Cool Master Cosmos 2

Comp2 (Wife's) : ASUS Sabertooth P67, i7 2700K, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866, 1TB HD, 2TB HD, EVGA 660, Corsair 1000HX, HAF 922

Comp3 (Kids) : ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2700K, 8GB 1866 GSkill, Gigabyte 770, Crucial M4 120GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB,1TB WD Black, Antec 850W, Antec 120
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Case Mod Helping me make an aquarium computer? draemn Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 16 November 14, 2011 07:45 PM
Co-worker EaGle1337 Off Topic 41 February 23, 2011 03:25 AM
Need helping choosing motherboard for i5 system Killadelphia CPU's and Motherboards 10 December 11, 2009 12:11 AM
Upgrade - for a co-worker Dr_BenD_over New Builds 6 May 22, 2009 09:08 AM
Helping a Friend OC GA-P35-DS3L BALISTX Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 34 February 7, 2008 02:54 PM