Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 8, 2012, 12:01 PM
Rookie

Default Seated my H50 over and over, Still high temps

I have an i7 920 with a P6T v2 motherboard. I have a huge case with very good air flow. I have been getting very good temps for years on a 4ghz overclock. The cores would rarely go over 45C when idle. One day they decided to spike to around 60C so I disabled the overclock and im idling around 52C. I have re seated it about 5 times with 3 different pastes. I hear the pump kick in every time I boot the PC, I have been using it for a few years so I installed the stock Intel fan that came with it. Im getting the same high temps. I disabled HT and also installed a fresh windows 7 on an external drive to see if any programs was causing the problem. I still get the same high temps. It is very hot outside but that has never been a problem before. I know my temps arent dangerous but I would like to find the problem. Going from around 42C on a 4.0ghz overclock to 50C with all overclock disabled pisses me off.
Old July 8, 2012, 12:04 PM
Hall Of Fame

h50 on a heat pig like the 920 really ain't going to cut it. But are those temps under load or not?
Also what fans are you running and what configuration?
Old July 8, 2012, 12:05 PM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

Have you checked things like vcore and other voltage settings? Your board may be overvolting for some reason.
Old July 8, 2012, 12:09 PM
Rookie

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
h50 on a heat pig like the 920 really ain't going to cut it. But are those temps under load or not?
Also what fans are you running and what configuration?