Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 04:34 AM
eltiti55555's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 80
Default Computer won't turn at all!

Last night I think I left my computer on OR on sleep mode(can't remember), BUT this morning when I woke up it was completely off. I tried turning it on by pressing the power button, but nothing happened. I checked the power supply cable and even reconnected it, and the only thing that happened right after reconnecting it was a small flash of red light (normally there is a red light when the computer is ON) beside the power button after pressing it, but only for about 1 sec, and then it went off.

I opened the case, and checked all cables on my HAF 922 which seemed OK. TBH I payed NCIX $50 to assemble my computer when I bought the parts, because it gave me 1 year warranty (Expires on July 15 this year); therefore many of the cables are hidden under one side of the HAF 922 which I have never touched, but I honesty doubt that the problem lies there. To my experience (with other PCs) I have the strong feeling that the PSU just died. I used to hear some loud fan-like sound coming from the PSU a while back when I bought the PC, but now that I think about it I believe that it stopped doing that after a while.

Anyways that being said are there any tests I can run to make sure that it is the PSU the one at fault here, or if it is something else completely? Also any specific specs of my computer can be found under my signature, but if you need some specific details please don't hesitate to ask.

Thank you.
__________________
Motherboard: Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3 ATX LGA1155
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws X F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL 8GB
Video Card: Gigabyte Windforce 7950 OC
Hard Drives: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA3 6GB/S 7200RPM 64MB Cache 3.5IN Dual Proc Hard Drive OEM
Power Supply: Corsair Builder Series CMPSU-600CXV2 600W ATX
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Edition 64BIT
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 08:29 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Maybe try a different electrical outlet and take the side panel off and see if there are any led's illuminated on the motherboard when you plug the psu it. If there is that means there is power to the board. Then try powering it on again.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 09:15 AM
eltiti55555's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dandelioneater View Post
Maybe try a different electrical outlet and take the side panel off and see if there are any led's illuminated on the motherboard when you plug the psu it. If there is that means there is power to the board. Then try powering it on again.
There are no lights on the motherboard, although I don't remember it having lights even while it was on. What I do notice is that every time I reconnect it some power reaches the computer, because when I press on the power button it flashes red for a sec, and the fan on the heat sink tries to spin, but again ONLY for 1 sec or so. The outlet where it is plugged in works just fine, because I tried charging my laptop from there and it worked. Anything else I could do at this point?
__________________
Motherboard: Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3 ATX LGA1155
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws X F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL 8GB
Video Card: Gigabyte Windforce 7950 OC
Hard Drives: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA3 6GB/S 7200RPM 64MB Cache 3.5IN Dual Proc Hard Drive OEM
Power Supply: Corsair Builder Series CMPSU-600CXV2 600W ATX
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Edition 64BIT
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 09:27 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,545

My System Specs

Default

Return to sender.. make it NCIX's problem before the warranty runs out..

Sounds like the PSU but they will have to fix it no-matter what it is..

At the very least contact them that there is a problem so that they have a record that it happened before the warranty runs out.

They may get you to trouble-shoot and then just send specific parts rather than the whole box.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 09:29 AM
Entilza's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 75

My System Specs

Default

Definitely a PSU or Motherboard problem... Probably and hopefully PSU.. Not sure how comfortable you are working with the computer but you definitely need to swap Power supplies and see if it works it's the easiest thing to test.

You have a warranty from NCIX I would just call the nearest one you and ask if you can bring it in..
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 09:37 AM
eltiti55555's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzzope View Post
Return to sender.. make it NCIX's problem before the warranty runs out..

Sounds like the PSU but they will have to fix it no-matter what it is..

At the very least contact them that there is a problem so that they have a record that it happened before the warranty runs out.

They may get you to trouble-shoot and then just send specific parts rather than the whole box.
Yea I was thinking about doing that. I don't have any experience returning things to NCIX, but do you know if they give credit refunds? That way I can just add some money on top of that and buy a better PSU, maybe even with more watts for future use.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Entilza View Post
Definitely a PSU or Motherboard problem... Probably and hopefully PSU.. Not sure how comfortable you are working with the computer but you definitely need to swap Power supplies and see if it works it's the easiest thing to test.

You have a warranty from NCIX I would just call the nearest one you and ask if you can bring it in..
I have assembled computers from scratch a couple of times, but never a gaming computer, which has a lot of more cables, plugs, and whatnot. Specially this one since I didn't build it myself, but if the guarantee covers it I am pretty sure they should be able to replace the PSU themselves. They did a pretty good job organizing cables last time, so hopefully they will do it again.
__________________
Motherboard: Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3 ATX LGA1155
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws X F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL 8GB
Video Card: Gigabyte Windforce 7950 OC
Hard Drives: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA3 6GB/S 7200RPM 64MB Cache 3.5IN Dual Proc Hard Drive OEM
Power Supply: Corsair Builder Series CMPSU-600CXV2 600W ATX
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Edition 64BIT
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 10:20 AM
Master_Shake_'s Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 123

My System Specs

Default

is the switch on, on the back of the psu??

cause it sounds like what happens when the psu gets shut off and you hit the power button to discharge the capacitors in the psu?

is your psu power cable ok?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 11:36 AM
eltiti55555's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Master_Shake_ View Post
is the switch on, on the back of the psu??

cause it sounds like what happens when the psu gets shut off and you hit the power button to discharge the capacitors in the psu?

is your psu power cable ok?
Yup, it's on. Also I tried a different cable from my other computer and i got the same result.
__________________
Motherboard: Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3 ATX LGA1155
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws X F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL 8GB
Video Card: Gigabyte Windforce 7950 OC
Hard Drives: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA3 6GB/S 7200RPM 64MB Cache 3.5IN Dual Proc Hard Drive OEM
Power Supply: Corsair Builder Series CMPSU-600CXV2 600W ATX
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Edition 64BIT
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 11:49 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eltiti55555 View Post
Last night I think I left my computer on OR on sleep mode(can't remember), BUT this morning when I woke up it was completely off. I tried turning it on by pressing the power button, but nothing happened. I checked the power supply cable and even reconnected it, and the only thing that happened right after reconnecting it was a small flash of red light (normally there is a red light when the computer is ON) beside the power button after pressing it, but only for about 1 sec, and then it went off.

I opened the case, and checked all cables on my HAF 922 which seemed OK. TBH I payed NCIX $50 to assemble my computer when I bought the parts, because it gave me 1 year warranty (Expires on July 15 this year); therefore many of the cables are hidden under one side of the HAF 922 which I have never touched, but I honesty doubt that the problem lies there. To my experience (with other PCs) I have the strong feeling that the PSU just died. I used to hear some loud fan-like sound coming from the PSU a while back when I bought the PC, but now that I think about it I believe that it stopped doing that after a while.

Anyways that being said are there any tests I can run to make sure that it is the PSU the one at fault here, or if it is something else completely? Also any specific specs of my computer can be found under my signature, but if you need some specific details please don't hesitate to ask.

Thank you.
Just to be absolutely sure you don't get hit with a "there was no problem with the machine" maintenance fee you'll want to go through a few steps.
  • Cmos reset
  • Physically disconnect all PSU connections and reconnect
  • Physically disconnect all fans and reconnect
  • reseat CPU
  • unplug all connections from the motherboard except for cpu fan, motherboard power, and gpu power
I'd personally try running the board outside of the case, but if you've got a warranty/maintenance package with NCIX that might be more than you need to do.

The one time in recent history that I can remember a system with symptoms like what you're describing it ended up being issues with a flakey 4/8 pin motherboard power connector.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 11:57 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,406

My System Specs

Default

I'd unplug it from the wall for at least 10min and then try it again.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC won't turn off... GT7R Troubleshooting 19 April 29, 2012 11:28 AM
Why Does my computer Turn Off KSiG CPU's and Motherboards 8 April 4, 2012 05:56 PM
[SOLVED] Computer turned on 1st time, but will not turn on again. tybeet Troubleshooting 12 September 8, 2010 06:14 PM
Safe to turn on johnnyuterus Troubleshooting 15 January 5, 2009 07:27 AM
My turn to ask for help Cptn Vortex Troubleshooting 17 March 23, 2008 01:05 PM