Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 12:15 PM
eltiti55555's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Just to be absolutely sure you don't get hit with a "there was no problem with the machine" maintenance fee you'll want to go through a few steps.
  • Cmos reset
  • Physically disconnect all PSU connections and reconnect
  • Physically disconnect all fans and reconnect
  • reseat CPU
  • unplug all connections from the motherboard except for cpu fan, motherboard power, and gpu power
I'd personally try running the board outside of the case, but if you've got a warranty/maintenance package with NCIX that might be more than you need to do.

The one time in recent history that I can remember a system with symptoms like what you're describing it ended up being issues with a flakey 4/8 pin motherboard power connector.
I am not sure how to do a CMOS reset, do you have knowledge of anything good videos that could help? Also how would moving the CPU around make a difference at all? If it comes the worse I will send it to NCIX, I payed for a 1 year warranty, so they will have to do w/e it's necessary to get my problem fixed at zero cost, right?

Thank you for your helpful insight.
__________________
Motherboard: Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3 ATX LGA1155
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.5Ghz (TB On)
Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws X F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL 8GB
Video Card x2: Gigabyte Windforce 7950 Boost @1100/1350 || AMD Radeon R9 280 Double Dissipation Edition @ 1100/1350
Hard Drives: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA3 6GB/S 7200RPM 64MB Cache 3.5IN Dual Proc Hard Drive OEM
SSD: Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply: XFX XTR Series 750W PSU
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Edition 64Bit
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 12:53 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,396

My System Specs

Default

The is a battery on your Motherboard and depending on which motherboard it is there might be a reset switch around the battery. what you need to do is power off your PC unplug it from the wall after that I usually press the power button to release any leftover electricity that might be charged on the motherboard . then look to see if there is a reset switch on the motherboard which usually is located close to the battery then press it. if there isn't a reset switch beside the battery then you have to carefully pull the battery out, there is a type of clip thing that you press with a pen or something like a pen that will release the battery just don't force it. once the battery is out wait a few seconds then reinstall it the same way it came out. your cmos has now been reset. just plug everything back in and power up.


On a side note I would suggest that you do what sswilson said just to be totally sure
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 01:07 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,639

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eltiti55555 View Post
I am not sure how to do a CMOS reset, do you have knowledge of anything good videos that could help? Also how would moving the CPU around make a difference at all? If it comes the worse I will send it to NCIX, I payed for a 1 year warranty, so they will have to do w/e it's necessary to get my problem fixed at zero cost, right?

Thank you for your helpful insight.
The power supply gets a "go ahead and start" signal from a motherboard which has a cpu installed in it, otherwise it won't even attempt to power on. This is why you may have seen pictures of power supply connectors being jumpered so that they'll run without being connected to a motherboard. If the socket / cpu isn't making a good contact you'll get symptoms like you've described which is why reseating the CPU might resolve the issue.

That said... if you're not comfortable doing that... you've paid for a service from NCIX and there's no reason why you shouldn't take advantage of it.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 01:08 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,826

My System Specs

Default

IMO, NCIX should go through simple troubleshooting so that you won't have to pay any no fault found fee
(if there is a problem it's free, if not they have a service charge as your wasting their time for no fault, this is standard RMA policy)

I'd call them up and explain whats happening and that you'd like to talk to an engineer to try and eliminate any un-necessary return.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 02:18 PM
eltiti55555's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
The is a battery on your Motherboard and depending on which motherboard it is there might be a reset switch around the battery. what you need to do is power off your PC unplug it from the wall after that I usually press the power button to release any leftover electricity that might be charged on the motherboard . then look to see if there is a reset switch on the motherboard which usually is located close to the battery then press it. if there isn't a reset switch beside the battery then you have to carefully pull the battery out, there is a type of clip thing that you press with a pen or something like a pen that will release the battery just don't force it. once the battery is out wait a few seconds then reinstall it the same way it came out. your cmos has now been reset. just plug everything back in and power up.


On a side note I would suggest that you do what sswilson said just to be totally sure
When resetting the CMOS, only the custom settings inside the BIOS will be deleted, right? (Ex. Start by checking the C: Drive, instead of the DVD drive)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzzope View Post
IMO, NCIX should go through simple troubleshooting so that you won't have to pay any no fault found fee
(if there is a problem it's free, if not they have a service charge as your wasting their time for no fault, this is standard RMA policy)

I'd call them up and explain whats happening and that you'd like to talk to an engineer to try and eliminate any un-necessary return.
I just talked to them and they told me I could just drop it by. Something funny enough happened, I sent a ticket first, and then when I called them the guy who answered guessed my name, as he was reading my ticket exactly when I called them (either they don't get many tickets, or they work fast lol). Anyways unless there is a cable loose that I didn't see they shouldn't charge me a "no fault found fee".
__________________
Motherboard: Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3 ATX LGA1155
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.5Ghz (TB On)
Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws X F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL 8GB
Video Card x2: Gigabyte Windforce 7950 Boost @1100/1350 || AMD Radeon R9 280 Double Dissipation Edition @ 1100/1350
Hard Drives: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA3 6GB/S 7200RPM 64MB Cache 3.5IN Dual Proc Hard Drive OEM
SSD: Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply: XFX XTR Series 750W PSU
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Edition 64Bit
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 02:32 PM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 964
Default

The only other thing I can possibly think of would be to try a different wall outlet and power bar. It's a long shot to say the least but I've run into that once before and took me forever to figure out.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 02:59 PM
eltiti55555's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 94
Default

One thing to note that I mentioned in another thread a created a quite a few months back is that my GPU doesn't start up properly after being asleep. Many times after waking my computer from a night sleep the GPU doesn't respond, I know this because games that normally run at 60FPS suddenly lag like crazy, and the Gadget I use to measure the temp, fan speed, and amount of VRAM being used displays nothing. After restarting my computer however everything goes back to normal.
__________________
Motherboard: Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3 ATX LGA1155
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.5Ghz (TB On)
Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws X F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL 8GB
Video Card x2: Gigabyte Windforce 7950 Boost @1100/1350 || AMD Radeon R9 280 Double Dissipation Edition @ 1100/1350
Hard Drives: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA3 6GB/S 7200RPM 64MB Cache 3.5IN Dual Proc Hard Drive OEM
SSD: Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply: XFX XTR Series 750W PSU
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Edition 64Bit
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 05:43 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 26
Default

Disconnect it and try the paper clip test. Cx600 is kinda meh for a 570. They arent high quality like tx series etc
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2012, 05:53 AM
eltiti55555's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A.01 View Post
Disconnect it and try the paper clip test. Cx600 is kinda meh for a 570. They arent high quality like tx series etc
What's a paper clip test? (Never mind, I am not doing that) Also what new PSU would you recommend me?
__________________
Motherboard: Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3 ATX LGA1155
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.5Ghz (TB On)
Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws X F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL 8GB
Video Card x2: Gigabyte Windforce 7950 Boost @1100/1350 || AMD Radeon R9 280 Double Dissipation Edition @ 1100/1350
Hard Drives: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA3 6GB/S 7200RPM 64MB Cache 3.5IN Dual Proc Hard Drive OEM
SSD: Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply: XFX XTR Series 750W PSU
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Edition 64Bit

Last edited by eltiti55555; July 6, 2012 at 06:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2012, 07:55 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 36
Default computer wont turn on at all

make sure all the wires that for the front leds (and start and reset buttons) are plugged in....my nephew had a similar problem I thought the cpu was overheating so after putting new thermal paste I discovered that the wires for the front leds weren't plugged in properly (asus mbs have a block where you plug the wires into the block and you plug the block into the mb) and the pc wouldn't start...

sincerely
mleunm
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC won't turn off... GT7R Troubleshooting 19 April 29, 2012 11:28 AM
Why Does my computer Turn Off KSiG CPU's and Motherboards 8 April 4, 2012 05:56 PM
[SOLVED] Computer turned on 1st time, but will not turn on again. tybeet Troubleshooting 12 September 8, 2010 06:14 PM
Safe to turn on johnnyuterus Troubleshooting 15 January 5, 2009 07:27 AM
My turn to ask for help Cptn Vortex Troubleshooting 17 March 23, 2008 01:05 PM