Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2012, 08:59 PM
w0z's Avatar
w0z w0z is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default What are good speeds?

Hello,

I just setup a home server. Running WHS 2011. I was just wondering what good write speeds are?

I am running the Server on a cat6 directly connected to the router and i am transferring files from my laptop at about 8MB/s is this suitable or should i expected better. I am a nub at this stuff

Thanks
w0z
__________________
Server
MSI Z77A-G45 | Intel G530 65w | Kingston 8GB DDR3 | 4x Western Digital 2TB Green | Corsair BS 600w | Coolermaster 690II Adv. | Windows Home Server 2011
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2012, 07:50 AM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 583

My System Specs

Default

That depends if your laptop supports Gigabit LAN. My hunch is that it does not.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2012, 08:29 AM
w0z's Avatar
w0z w0z is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

The server is connected to Linksys WRT-160N which is 100mbps not a gigabit. Could that be the reason why i am getting such slow transfer speeds. Is it worth it to upgrade the router to a gigabit or should i just get a gigabit switch and just use the router for wireless?
__________________
Server
MSI Z77A-G45 | Intel G530 65w | Kingston 8GB DDR3 | 4x Western Digital 2TB Green | Corsair BS 600w | Coolermaster 690II Adv. | Windows Home Server 2011
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2012, 08:36 AM
Keywork's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Niagara
Posts: 604

My System Specs

Default

With fast ethernet, you can't acheive speeds higher than 12 MBps (100 Mbit). If you have some money, then a gigabit switch would be a welcome upgrade!

Edit: Also, keep in mind that your speeds may be limited by your storage, not your network (but at 8 MB/s I highly doubt it's your storage )
__________________
Friends don't let friends use onboard video.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2012, 08:50 AM
w0z's Avatar
w0z w0z is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

yeah it take me 6 mins to transfer a 2GB file... i was think i would get around 45mbps. I just not sure if i should buy a gigabit switch or router

and even which one to buy. Any suggestions
__________________
Server
MSI Z77A-G45 | Intel G530 65w | Kingston 8GB DDR3 | 4x Western Digital 2TB Green | Corsair BS 600w | Coolermaster 690II Adv. | Windows Home Server 2011
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2012, 08:58 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

Depends what you want to spend. You can find a 5 port unmanaged GB switch for under $30. Most routers that have GB ports are $60 or more. The one I usually recommend is the Asus RT-N16, but it's 90 plus tax. ASUS RT-N16 4 Port Gigabit Wireless N Router With 2x USB 2.0 Ports - ASUS - RT-N16
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2012, 09:05 AM
w0z's Avatar
w0z w0z is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

I am thinking this.
D-LINK DGS-1005G 5-PORT Unmanaged Gigabit Switch - D-Link - DGS-1005G

I can go from my modem to gigabit switch and then use 1 port from the switch to my linksys.

I think this is my cheapest opinion for now!

If you see any problems please say

thanks
w0z
__________________
Server
MSI Z77A-G45 | Intel G530 65w | Kingston 8GB DDR3 | 4x Western Digital 2TB Green | Corsair BS 600w | Coolermaster 690II Adv. | Windows Home Server 2011
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2012, 09:08 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

asus rtn16 here and with gigabit i can pull 30mbps across my network
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2012, 12:22 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

Go with Asus or TP-Link stay away from the box store D-Link and Linksys
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2012, 02:12 PM
w0z's Avatar
w0z w0z is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

just ordered the Asus RT-N16..

thanks for the help guys
__________________
Server
MSI Z77A-G45 | Intel G530 65w | Kingston 8GB DDR3 | 4x Western Digital 2TB Green | Corsair BS 600w | Coolermaster 690II Adv. | Windows Home Server 2011
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whats a good rig for folding? Blu HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 March 6, 2012 02:53 PM
Whats a good budget SSD Drive? Blu Storage 12 December 15, 2010 11:05 PM
whats is a good monitor that can double as a TV Shadowmeph Display Units 13 July 22, 2009 11:39 AM
whats a good 120mm fan?.......... rob123 Air Cooling 21 July 22, 2009 05:16 AM
Whats a good mod for window in CM HAF 932? Lithotech Cases 2 October 15, 2008 02:28 PM