Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2012, 12:23 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Singapore
Posts: 37

My System Specs

Default PC forever "Loading Operating System"

I have been having this problems for about a week now. It used to be okay after a few restarts, but today the solution doesn't seem to be working anymore. I have a GIGABYTE Z68MA-D2H-B3 mobo & I suspect it's the problem..

So basically when I turn on my pc, after bios will be the "Loading Operating System" with the black back ground. After awhile it will show "Boot from CD/DVD : DISK BOOT FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER".

So I went into the bios, I discover that my mobo does detect both of my HDDs this time round(it used detect my 400GB barracuda even when it doesn't detect my 1GB WD boot drive)

EDIT: Bios vr. F10
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2012, 05:03 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,048

My System Specs

Default

set boot pryorty in bios to 1 TB.

disconect stata to other drives.

see if it boots.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2012, 07:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Singapore
Posts: 37

My System Specs

Default

The problem is it doesn't even detect all the HDDs.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2012, 07:46 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,585
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DMCdejavu View Post
The problem is it doesn't even detect all the HDDs.
Honestly sounds like either a cable, sata port or hdd has completely failed.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2012, 01:07 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Singapore
Posts: 37

My System Specs

Default

Guess I'll have to send the mobo back.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2012, 06:49 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,924
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Honestly sounds like either a cable, sata port or hdd has completely failed.
+2 yes the sata connector socket or power cable to drive is the issue
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Systems in "My System Specs" drop down dustin1706 Suggestions & Feedback 1 November 18, 2010 01:08 PM
"Upgrade" current system. Nevakonaza New Builds 5 November 7, 2010 09:36 AM
Continuous "Serious System ERror" BSOD, Reboots jazaddict Troubleshooting 20 December 31, 2008 08:26 AM
Small system build "Little Valley" yamawho Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 8 July 30, 2008 05:19 AM
the system "you" wanted 6 months ago Krixxer CPU's and Motherboards 21 December 18, 2007 12:29 PM