Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2012, 11:24 PM
JoeOnePack's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: GTA
Posts: 237

My System Specs

Default Programs Not Responding, Now Internet Doesn't Work?

Hey guys,

I have run into a small problem. I just had about 3 or four episodes where the computer would not open any program and nothing was responding properly. Now all of a sudden everything works fine, but the internet doesn't work. I have 3 other laptops downstairs and everything is fine.

Anyone know what that could have been about and how I get my internet back up?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 12:33 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,763

My System Specs

Default

Possible virus right here... behaviour is a bit erratic to be standard issues.

Other possible issues are some corrupted data or bad sectors on hdd, effecting programs and drivers in that area or memory problem.

Number 1 I would do some thorough checks for viruses, mailware etc.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 12:45 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

It's a new build so I would check for bad RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 01:01 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 28
Default

I agree, definitely sounds like malware or virus. Scan you system ASAP.

If you are familiar with processes, check your task manager for any tasks that look out of the ordinary.
__________________
References:
eBay | Heatware

Sold:
Phenom X4 960T on HWC
PNY GTX 770 on CL
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 01:03 AM
JoeOnePack's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: GTA
Posts: 237

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzzope View Post
Possible virus right here... behaviour is a bit erratic to be standard issues.

Other possible issues are some corrupted data or bad sectors on hdd, effecting programs and drivers in that area or memory problem.

Number 1 I would do some thorough checks for viruses, mailware etc.
I am running adaware full scan right now to check for viruses.

I was thinking corrupted data might be the problem. How would I check for this?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 03:51 AM
Mark's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bolton, Ontario
Posts: 859
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeOnePack View Post
I am running adaware full scan right now to check for viruses.

I was thinking corrupted data might be the problem. How would I check for this?
System File check

Start, click All Programs, click Accessories, right-click Command Prompt, and then click Run as administrator. If you are prompted for an administrator password or for a confirmation, type the password, or click Allow.
Type the following command, and then press ENTER:

sfc /scannow

The sfc /scannow command scans all protected system files and replaces incorrect versions with correct Microsoft versions.

How to use the System File Checker tool to troubleshoot missing or corrupted system files on Windows Vista or on Windows 7

- No idea what you have as a build or how old the system is but this is an easy start for you.
__________________



CHEERS
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 05:37 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 959
Default

I'd skip the adaware scan and get Malwarebytes. Do a scan with that as it is a better program. As has been mentioned, do a chkdsk /r on your drive and also run memtest. You should find something after those.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 09:35 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

run memtest first, as doing an SFC will just trash your entire OS otherwise.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 02:10 PM
JoeOnePack's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: GTA
Posts: 237

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
run memtest first, as doing an SFC will just trash your entire OS otherwise.
Alright, i'm in command prompt but have no idea how to run memtest. I am going to have to download malware on another pc and transfer it to my computer as I can't get to the internet to download it.

I won't run SFC right now until the others have been tried.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 03:33 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool

Download and install to USB or CD then boot computer off of it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Webcam Doesn't Work? geokilla Peripherals 0 May 15, 2012 02:32 PM
Certain programs don't work after installing a soundcard JoshOohAh O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 February 3, 2012 04:54 PM
1 key on laptop keyboard doesn't work after spill bigFOIG Troubleshooting 5 October 8, 2011 05:41 PM
Moms friends computer doesn't work Blu Troubleshooting 8 January 15, 2011 09:45 AM
Xbox 360 controller doesn't work in Full Speed Troubleshooting 3 May 22, 2010 07:40 PM