Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 8, 2008, 07:54 AM
Rookie

Default Computer won't post

Hi
I am a student and i had to ship my computer from my school in newfyland to my home in alberta. It was running perfectly fine here but when my brother set it up yesterday its stuck on the CODE INIT, and taking out the battery to clear the CMOS isn't working. So is there something I am forgetting to tell him or is it broken.
Extreme Striker mobo with 1504 bios
e6850 @3.0
2 gigs cruxial ballistix
Antec Truepower trio 650 watts
Also i put everything back into stock voltages etc before sending it home so my brother wouldn't have to deal with any overclocking issues. thanks
Old April 8, 2008, 08:16 AM
Quadfather

My System Specs

If the extreme striker is anything like my Crosshair from the same Asus series (Republic of gamers) then you need to press the LED Light button on the I/O panel on the rear of the motherboard otherwise the system won't turn on. It's basically made that way so with the system off you can turn on those pretty leds and see around the inside of your case without a light on, but those same LEDs have to be OFF or else the system won't post AT ALL. It's weird, I know, but I think it's something to do with making sure the system has enough juice to startup. Lemme know if it helps!

PS: Just double-checked the Asus website and it is Exactly the same as my Crosshair. Press that "LED SW" button and try to post it again!
Old April 9, 2008, 07:48 AM
Rookie

That switch justs seems to cut the power from the board all together. And unfortunately didn't work.
Old April 9, 2008, 08:13 AM
Quadfather

My System Specs

Were the LEDs on or off when you tried to post?
Old April 9, 2008, 09:49 PM
Rookie

Fans turn on the leds turn on but it wont pass CODE INIT/CPU INITon the back.
It's bothering me because everything worked fine before i sent it, so i think something might be busted.