Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2012, 10:12 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default Asus 670 BSOD's on startup after driver install

need help just upgraded to a 670 CUII and it BSOD during windows startup the restart after the drivers are installed :(. Tried both asus and Nvidia drivers. any help would be great
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2012, 10:17 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

Did you clean the drivers from your AMD card in safe mode before you shut it down and installed the Nvidia?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2012, 10:44 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

That I did my good sir, still having the issue just ran out to my computer storage room and grabbed the driver disk remember that my old 6870 only would install the first time with the asus driver disk maybe this Asus 670 is just buggy like it was that way.
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2012, 10:46 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

If you can run a GPU benchmark in Linux or a separate Windows install, you can pretty much guarantee it's a driver issue.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2012, 10:56 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

Looks like I am SOL time to try a reload if that fails nvidia will again be on my hated list and I will go get a 7950
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2012, 09:23 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,686

My System Specs

Default

I had a crash issue with my 670 but it would get into windows first... i found the GPU tweak software was the cause..

It is possible that you got unlucky and it's just a bad card... Which can happen with any type of card from any manufacturer..

If possible try it in a different box.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2012, 09:36 AM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

... 4 machines and 2 reloads I got a bad card... I will advance swap for one more but am really disappointed this was supposed to be Nvidia's saving grace for me... I was going to swap from my 6970 and almost 6 solid years of ATI/AMD only love over to all Nvidia in my house but if I get another one back failed. I will never look back
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2012, 02:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 29
Default

Dammm. Was going to suggest driver sweeper in safe mode due to similar issue but if card is bad card is bad.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2012, 02:57 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

good plan, I tried Drive sweeper too great minds think alike but sadly just DOA new card is here going to try it in 3 hours haha
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2012, 08:00 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

Ended up being my server, it wont play nice with any Kelper cards, and for some reason Nvidia cards only play at half power but when I put a AMD card in it runs way smoother so back to my 6970 for now:) still a great card though
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus Crosshair V BSOD + Bad Intel driver Prolab Troubleshooting 6 September 5, 2011 11:56 AM
[SOLVED] BSOD at Windows Vista Startup iv:xx Troubleshooting 5 February 28, 2011 08:59 AM
Driver install to OS for another PC clone63 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 March 24, 2010 09:04 PM
BSOD when trying to install XP clone63 Troubleshooting 11 March 22, 2010 11:22 AM
I am geting BSOD when ever I install Xonar dx drivers Shadowmeph O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 June 6, 2009 05:40 PM