Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 04:07 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Found the same problem this week between my KGPE-D16 and a GTX680. The second I installed the drivers and rebooted, it would start a BSOD loop after the Windows orbs. Impossible to stop, reformat was the only option.
But with a GTX580, all is fine? I've tried a few drivers too, no change.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 08:43 AM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

Thats insane 3.0, I tried last night all my cards that my Nvidia rep gave me
680 BSOD
670 BSOD
640 2gb BSOD
460 Works fine

Then I threw my amd cards at it
6970 perfect
6990 perfect
6870 perfect
7770 perfect

Think I need to sell some stuff and get a 7950 or 7970 if I want more power but for now I will water cool my tower tonight and switch out for my 6970 CUII Watercooled card.

Also ordered a MIO sound card so that I can put my 6970 in the X16 slot as for some reason I had it in the X8 Slot before think thats cuz the pike slot will not work for a sound card slot for some reason :S
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 09:09 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,208

My System Specs

Default

It's weird. A lot of the Nvidia harpies will go on and on about how AMD's drivers are broken, and about how Nvidia always runs flawlessly, and about how AMD/ATI has screwed them for life (six years ago) and how Nvidia will only ever do it for them these days. Where are they now?

I'm not saying that AMD/ATI has perfect drivers, I'm just saying that NVIDIA is not as perfect as some of you would like to believe.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 09:21 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

It's the Kepler card, not the drivers (I think). Since the 580 works damn fine using the same board and drivers (301.46s).
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 09:36 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,208

My System Specs

Default

Whatever. It amounts to the same thing.

Edit: problem solved, I suppose: card sold!

BTW, why was it not working? Was it because you're installing it into a server board? Multi-CPU? What kind of CPU's you using? Opterons? Bulldozers? Intels? I'm just curious as to what would cause the GPU to not be recognized (or whatever it's doing).
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;

Last edited by great_big_abyss; June 15, 2012 at 09:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 10:02 AM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

I was installing it into the computer on my top Right system specs haha
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 10:03 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,063

My System Specs

Default

Interesting, this is why for the most part on higher end server builds I use Quattro or FirePro Cards, as there drivers are more tuned and refined for different enviroments.

GBA - We're still here, ATI and my distension stems from recent (not 6 year memory) of a lot of broken X-fire crap. Though I will never say either company is flawless. I just weigh the odds of which one gives me the least amount of issue.
Even I will admit the latest nVidia drivers aren't playing well with D3 either.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 10:11 AM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
Interesting, this is why for the most part on higher end server builds I use Quattro or FirePro Cards, as there drivers are more tuned and refined for different enviroments.

GBA - We're still here, ATI and my distension stems from recent (not 6 year memory) of a lot of broken X-fire crap. Though I will never say either company is flawless. I just weigh the odds of which one gives me the least amount of issue.
Even I will admit the latest nVidia drivers aren't playing well with D3 either.

-ST
So I should believe my wife when she says her 2 670's that were mine are having odd slow downs in D3 and small glitches... thought she was crazy as my 6970 is maxing out with rare slowdowns.
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 10:21 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,063

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soullessone21 View Post
So I should believe my wife when she says her 2 670's that were mine are having odd slow downs in D3 and small glitches... thought she was crazy as my 6970 is maxing out with rare slowdowns.
Probably. Though our issues were pre-Kepler cards on 3XX series drivers.

Lucky that you run with the 6970's as my bro's 6850 and his wifes 6870's are having bad black issues on D3.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 10:33 AM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
Probably. Though our issues were pre-Kepler cards on 3XX series drivers.

Lucky that you run with the 6970's as my bro's 6850 and his wifes 6870's are having bad black issues on D3.

-ST
I have to be honest that is so odd, my little bro runs dual 6870's and his runs flawless, Even I ran my 6870's for all the games I had at the time with zero issues... but you are right lots of people have posted the Barts issues so I know they are out there, I think my family just lucked out with ours and having zero issues.
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus Crosshair V BSOD + Bad Intel driver Prolab Troubleshooting 6 September 5, 2011 11:56 AM
[SOLVED] BSOD at Windows Vista Startup iv:xx Troubleshooting 5 February 28, 2011 08:59 AM
Driver install to OS for another PC clone63 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 March 24, 2010 09:04 PM
BSOD when trying to install XP clone63 Troubleshooting 11 March 22, 2010 11:22 AM
I am geting BSOD when ever I install Xonar dx drivers Shadowmeph O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 June 6, 2009 05:40 PM