Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2012, 03:56 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 49
Default

Thanks, I'll try again later today :)
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2012, 11:55 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 49
Default

Tried everything, now I'm just going to RMA it and buy a new z77, probably from ASUS.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2012, 03:23 PM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 960
Default

I had the exact same issue with an older Gigabyte board, I believe it was an EP35-DS4 or something and this kind of thing has been happening with their boards through multiple generations now. The last I checked they refused to acknowlege the issue as well. I've refused to buy another one of their boards since then and definitely won't recommend them either.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2012, 06:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 49
Default

I'm going to do some last ditch test to try and reset the CMOS by removing the battery over night. One thing that troubles me though is that after going through all the steps to reset the CMOS it still boot loops. Could this be an indication that it's not the motherboard?
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2012, 07:28 PM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 960
Default

No, at least in my opinion. Especially if you've ruled out ram and the power supply. Do a google search on Gigabyte boot loop before wasting anymore time. Most of the threads saying solved (at least the ones I read) all involved new motherboards by different manufacturers.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2012, 04:10 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 49
Default

Yeah I've read a lot of them. I want to buy an ASUS motherboard but I'm not sure whether gigabyte will refund me or not. If I RMA it I'm afraid I'll get another junk board and get stuck into this boot loop problem again.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2012, 07:34 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 960
Default

Get the RMA and then sell the board :) Put that money towards a new one. Sure you may loose a bit of money but it's not the worst option either.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2012, 07:47 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

Didn't Gigabyte have a marketing campaign recently where they boasted that they had the least amount of failures per board than any other manufacturer? And yet here we have yet another example of a consumer ditching Gigabyte to buy another manufacturer's board specifically because of a bad part. Fail!
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2012, 11:17 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 49
Default

Great, was reading more horror stories about this board. Some people who RMA'd it were told by gigabyte that nothing was wrong and just given their board back. It seems they don't want to acknowledge this problem...looks like I'm going to be out 200$ lol.
Thinking of either this: Newegg.ca - ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
or this: Newegg.ca - ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z/GEN3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2012, 11:36 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

unplug everything from your motherboard and leave the bare essentials to boot meaning ram, cpu and gpu and see what happens. she metimes a device can cause symptoms like you are having. also make sure everything all usb and ps2 devices a email unplugged.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD after 5 minutes of turning on Kazushi Erukima Troubleshooting 7 July 5, 2011 11:38 AM
Computer still isn't turning on???? bvsbutthd101 Troubleshooting 11 February 7, 2011 05:26 AM
pc turning on Phobia Troubleshooting 10 January 6, 2009 04:43 PM
pump not turning on? stormkiller22 Troubleshooting 8 April 4, 2008 01:17 AM
Amd might be turning things around. cdn_Madrach CPU's and Motherboards 8 August 29, 2007 04:11 PM