Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2008, 03:46 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 65
Default dissapearing space

I recently completed my first build, using two seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDDs in RAID 0. I used the intel matrix system built into my motherboard (Asus P5K-E wifi/AP) to set them up in RAID 0. They show up as 1 drive, and they seem to respond fairly fast (which suggests to me that RAID is working.

The problem is that they only show up as a 935GB drive, and every time I boot up I have less space. Currently, it shows 832GB free, out of 935. I only have 39GB worth of stuff on here. So I seem to be missing 129GB, which is shrinking. Last night, it showed 836Gb. So I lost 4GB, even though I haven't done anything in the meantime.

My guess is that I F*cked up the RAID, for lack of a better explanation. Any ideas?
__________________
Asus p5K-E Wifi/AP / Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 / 2GB Crucial BallistiX DDR2 1066 / eVGA 8800 GTS 512mb / Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 7 / Razer Barracuda audio / Seageate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB / PC Power&Cooling Silencer 750w
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2008, 04:46 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,042

My System Specs

Default

Check your system restore settings.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2008, 06:07 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
Check your system restore settings.
If you use system restore settings....set it to approx 3% of your total space.

If you don't use it...switch it off....!

Maybe the wife is DL movies behind your back?
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2008, 07:52 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 65
Default

it was the windows restore settings. why would anyone ever want 179GB of restore space (thats how much I had default)? restore back to every time they've ever booted, just for memories' sake?

I've set it to 10GB, which should be ample. Thanks guys.
__________________
Asus p5K-E Wifi/AP / Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 / 2GB Crucial BallistiX DDR2 1066 / eVGA 8800 GTS 512mb / Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 7 / Razer Barracuda audio / Seageate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB / PC Power&Cooling Silencer 750w
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2008, 09:49 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 83
Default

Another thing 2 do is set ur Recycle bin size down too since you probably don't need 10% of ur drive 2 b a recycle bin. You can also set your paging file too while ur @ it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2008, 08:19 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 170
Default

you lose a bit of space reformatting the HDD
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2008, 10:35 PM
Moneyless's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 303

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy View Post
you lose a bit of space reformatting the HDD
Actually it's not really from reformatting the HDD. Sure you lose a little when writing the file system allocation tables (or RAID system files) and such, but not that much.

The main reason why HDD's always seem like they have less space then they should is because HDD manufacturers specify disk capacity using the SI prefixes mega-, giga- and tera-, while most OS tools report capacity using the same abbreviations but actually use binary prefixes.

Ex:
The prefix mega-, which normally means 106 (1,000,000), in the context of data storage can mean 220 (1,048,576), which is nearly 5% more. This results in a difference between the HDD manufacturer's stated capacity and the apparent capacity of the drive when examined through most OS tools. The difference becomes even more noticeable (7%) for a gigabyte. For example, Windows reports HDD capacity both in decimal-based units to 12 or more significant digits and with binary-based units to three significant digits. Thus an HDD specified by an HDD manufacturer as a 30 GB disk might have its capacity reported by Windows both as "30,065,098,568 bytes" and "28.0 GB". The HDD manufacturer used the SI definition of "giga", 109 to arrive at 30 GB; however, because the utilities provided by Windows, Mac and some Linux distros define a gigabyte as 1,073,741,824 bytes (230 bytes, often referred to as a gigabyte, or GiB), the OS reports capacity of the HDD as (only) 28.0 GB.

__________________
"I hate broccoli
And think it totally sucks
Why is it not meat?"
-Deadpool
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2008, 07:18 AM
Mr. Cipher's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 458
Default

@moneyless: that was amazing. I never would have considered that small difference. Thank you!
__________________
i7 Red
EVGA X58 Classy | i7 920 D0 | Megahalems w. 1 noctua push| Mushkin Redline | Radeon HD 6870 | 2x640 WD Black | Corsair HX1000 | HAF 932 | Asus 26" LCD

C2Q Blue
Gigabyte EP45-UD3p | Q8400 @ 2.66ghz | Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme w. Scythe | Mushkin Redline PC2-8000 5-5-5-15-2T @ 400mhz |
BFG GTX 295 | 1.32TB WD HDDs | Corsair HX 620 W | Antec 900 | Acer 20" LCD
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2008, 09:01 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

People still use system restore and the recycle bin? Wow.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2008, 01:15 PM
Moneyless's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 303

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Cipher View Post
@moneyless: that was amazing. I never would have considered that small difference. Thank you!
No problem, I'm glad I could help clarify the situation a bit.
__________________
"I hate broccoli
And think it totally sucks
Why is it not meat?"
-Deadpool
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes