Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2012, 04:46 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Parksville, B.C.
Posts: 5

My System Specs

Question 2months of hell with downloads, please answer some questions for me.

Hi guys, "thank you" ahead of time for any replies.
First...the Problem.

I have a p6x58d premium motherboard.
I've had it for 2 years or so, and for the last 2 months I've not been able to post more than 130kb/s downloads in real world usage.
Watching a video on Youtube or trying to download a game from Steam is a painful crawl, and playing online games is sketchy at best (so, I just don't play anymore).
Speakeasy.net's speedtest shows my downloads to be 50mb/s, which is what my max is from my ISP, but on the other hand, Speedtest.net and Speedtest.shaw.ca, both show my downloads to be around 2mb/s. (Shaw being the ISP)
I get the same, max upload speeds, in every test and in each possible setup.
So, my first question is, "Why?"

I've narrowed down a lot of possibilities, here's a quick list:
-Hardware conflicts. I've tested everything...period. All works perfectly.
-Router issues. I have an Mx17 laptop, it runs perfectly over the network. (MTU is set properly)
-ISP connection. When connected directly to the modem, the issue still persists. Even after all of their troubleshooting. Glasnost reported clean posts as well.
-Viruses/Malware. It is a newly formatted hard-drive, but before that, I ran 5 different (and popular) programs in safemode(including combo cleaner), all showing up clean.
-Drivers/Bios. All updated, flashed, and good to go.
-I sent it away to a local network/computer repair guy, and $60 later, he couldn't find the issue.(thanks for trying)

Ok, so after all of that, I tried one last thing. I went out and bought a new Wireless NIC, and connected to the network at home. The speeds were exactly the same. Wireless NIC = Wired on-board NIC = Crap.

Anyhow, with knowing all of these things, there are a few obvious questions I need answered:
-Can your on-board network controller cause a separate network card to post similar download speeds, even after one or the other is disabled?
-Can an ISP limit one computer's speed over another, behind a router? (my guess is no...but maybe?)
-I know a virus can even survive a format, but usually they are really invasive. What's the chance that this is the cause? (again my guess is no)
-Can the internal IP have something to do with it?
-What am I not thinking of?

And honestly, without this being ridiculous, if someone can give me a clear-cut solution that doesn't involve "Go buy a new motherboard", I would be more than grateful. And if it does involve getting a new motherboard, well, I would want to know that too. Thanks again.

Last edited by Impressive; May 3, 2012 at 04:54 AM. Reason: Added Information
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2012, 05:49 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 919
Default

Your best bet at this point would be to try another computer if you can. Borrow a friends laptop or something and see if the problem persists. Then you can rule out your computer as the issue. I'd also try a new patch cables as well.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2012, 06:45 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

If one PC works behind a router and the other doesn't, then it's something to do with the PC. Since you tried both wired and wireless nics I'm leaning towards something software related even though you did a fresh install...
  • Is it a legit copy of the OS (if it's pirated, might be a trojan built into the OS)?
  • Did you try testing your speeds immediately after the fresh install, and prior to installing any of your apps? (Again... could be a trojan in one of those apps, and/or something that's not playing nice with your router).
  • Related to above... after the clean install, leave all settings to auto rather than attempting any manual settings.
  • On the hardware side, remove the drivers for your nic (from device manager), and then delete the card itself before attempting to install your wireless nic (ignore initial requests to install drivers for the wired nic)
  • A bit extreme, but you might want to pack up your tower and try it at a friend's house to see if the issue moves with the tower, and that will tell you for sure if it's PC related.
Seriously.... my bet's on something software related on the tower.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2012, 06:55 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,223

My System Specs

Default

To add to sswilson's advice, I'd also recommend a CMOS reset (battery pull or set the jumper, not just the option in BIOS) in case some DMA thing is messing up.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2012, 08:14 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Parksville, B.C.
Posts: 5

My System Specs

Default Hi again...

SSwilson, it is a valid copy of Win7, and I should have mentioned that I did pack it all up and take it over to my parents place and tried it behind their firewall, the problem definitely resides with the computer. I will try what you suggested and delete any registry and drivers of the on-board nic and wireless card as well, and do a fresh install of the wireless. I think I did do that already when I formatted, but what the hay!

Frontier204, I updated the bios as well but I think I put back all of the overclocking settings to where they were before I even loaded windows, so I could try pulling out the battery as well.

Thx for the suggestions, I'll keep you posted.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2012, 08:30 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

Have you tried installing a bandwidth monitor on the affect PC? Or even better... how about a bandwidth monitor on the laptop, and then share the laptop's wireless connection with the Nic to allow you to connect your PC to the internet through the laptop.... that will tell you if there's any hidden traffic on your PC.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2012, 12:15 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,849
Default

lan driver for the correct OS
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2012, 07:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Parksville, B.C.
Posts: 5

My System Specs

Default Boo-urns.

Okay, well, thanks for the replies and suggestions peeps. I tried everything, I'm just gonna purchase a new board. Too bad P6 boards are extinct, cause the i7930 is still an excellent CPU, but out with the old and in with the new I guess.

For the record, I did reset the CMOS and started from scratch by way of popping out the motherboard battery. I disabled the on-board LAN via the BIOS and deleted any signs of it from the operating system. A fresh install and even switching PCI-E slots didn't make the wireless adapter work any smoother.

It's really a shame, because I love my machine the way it is except for this one glaring issue.
Anyhow, ciao for now!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2012, 01:57 PM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC!
Posts: 618

My System Specs

Default

I seem to have run into much the same problem. Never had it before and now I have noticed a sever slow down. All the other machines in the house are not having a problem, so it is not the router/modem combo. I changed ethernet cables, tried different ports on the router, tried to blow up the drivers and reinstall... all to no apparent avail.

My netbook gets 45 Mbps connected with a Cat5e, my main box, 3.5 Mbps.

Scanned for virus, did it all, I think. Not sure what changed but something did.

Windows 7 Home 64 bit is what I am using.
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus P8Z77 : i7 3770k : Corsair Vengeance 8 GB DDR3-1600 : Corsair HX850W PSU : Corsair H100 : Corsair Obsidian 650D : eVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classy :
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : Sapphire HD 6670 : Nmedia HTPC 1000B : Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Netbook - Asus eee
Tablet - Asus eee Transformer
Wife's Rig - Lenovo Laptop
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2012, 04:18 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Parksville, B.C.
Posts: 5

My System Specs

Default UPDATE

Ok, Well I've narrowed it down to strictly my copy of 'Windows 7 64bit Home'. Reinstalling the same copy of windows on a new hard drive didn't change anything, but installing Ubuntu or Vista worked fine. Actually, better than fine, especially with the Linux install.
So, now the question is, "what do I do about Windows7"?
I've tried lots of things, and none of them have worked so far. I will keep searching and let you guys know.
Hopefully it will help you out too Dwayne.

Ciao for now...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slow downloads Livestrong Networking 9 July 30, 2011 08:26 AM
An answer for all the which budget processor questions (for now) [Xbit] Bond007 Reviews & Articles from the Web 6 November 19, 2010 07:19 AM
PC Downloads Without me Knowing! hen555 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 August 11, 2010 03:26 PM
Fan Hole & Radiator Template Downloads Mnpctech Guides & How-to's 6 October 30, 2009 03:07 AM
Please Help~answer the questions> < dracozhu Troubleshooting 6 March 8, 2008 02:17 PM