Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2012, 08:58 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 642

My System Specs

Default Trifire Woes

Hello.

I am having trouble with my trifire rig of 3x sapphire toxic 6950 all unlocked. All cards are tested stable on their own and in crossfire 2x config.

My troubles begin only when I install sapphire trixx. I get blue screens of death periodically. It keeps rambling about disabling ULPS, which i always have disabled. MSI afterburner is no good as It will only control the fan for GPU2 , not 1 nor 3.

My temps are no higher than 75 ever, with them averaging mid 60's.

I have a corsair ax 850 psu, but it only has the ability to use one true video card power connector. I have to run the other pcix (i think that's what they're called) via molex adaptors.

Are there any obvious solutions?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2012, 09:02 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Sounds like your powersupply isn't putting enough amps out through the molex adapters, have you tried reinstalling drivers? My only suggestion is to reinstall drivers, and look for a new PSU that can natively support those graphics cards without adapters.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2012, 10:12 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 642

My System Specs

Default

Here's the confounding factor though, I could run 2 6950 fine with one card on the molex adaptors. Windows seems to not like to detect my 6950's :(
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2012, 10:24 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Just curious, did you lose the second PCI-E cable? There should be 2x2 6+2 pin PCI-E cables.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2012, 10:51 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 642

My System Specs

Default

Ah you are perceptive! I didn't lose it but the AX850 has a design flaw for the Crosshair V mobo.

The PSU end of the modular cables comes in two sizes. The 8 pin connector is the large plug, the 4 pin connector is the small plug. There is only room for three big plugs in the PSU, so I could not run even a crossfire config with a dedicated non adapted line for both cards.

I fixed this by only using the 8 pin mobo connector as I am not needing to overclock my bulldozer.

I think i fixed it though. The confounding factor was that my molex line i was using for the adaptor for the dual card setup was DEDICATED. I now have 2 non adapted video card cables and one dedicated line for the other adaptors and it seems to be working.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2012, 11:37 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 642

My System Specs

Default

Update: It didn't work. Everytime i initiate guiminer it crashes when i have all 3 in tri fire.

Tri fire has been very buggy. Perhaps 850 watts isn't enough.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2012, 01:10 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

You don't run GUIminer in crossfire, when you want to mine you disable crossfire and load up 3 instances of GUIminer for each card. Try running furmark or MSI Kombuster while crossfire is enabled and see if all cards are utilized.
But you're right, 850W is really pushing it for 3 cards, at system load they suck up 300W total system power iirc, with 3 you'd be getting quite close if not over 850W.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2012, 01:17 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 642

My System Specs

Default

I actually got GUIMINER to run stable for almost 24 hours in trifire configuration. I was getting over 420 MH/s per card!

I am going to try and stress test 2 cards. If i get no problems I will go out and buy an AX 1200.

Thanks for the help :)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2012, 01:23 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 642

My System Specs

Default

Update: I have full control of fan settings, and there is no disable ULPS bug for my sapphire trixx software :D

This whole thing smells more and more like i need a better PSU.

One odd thing. One card says "catalyst 12.4" for its driver, the other "8.961.0.0"
What is the meaning of this? I just ran the catalyst installer.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2012, 01:37 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

8.961.0.0 is the software version.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6950's in trifire or 580 gtx sli Madmike2010 Video Cards 7 November 29, 2011 11:13 AM
QDC woes. turtletrax Water Cooling 11 September 24, 2011 01:31 AM
TriFire 5970+5850 gerardfraser Video Cards 12 December 31, 2009 06:47 PM
Sharp TV Woes!!! jcmaz Troubleshooting 17 August 31, 2009 06:17 PM
64-bit woes evancolson O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 June 6, 2008 10:14 PM