Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 07:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Default Monitor beyond repair?

Alright, so I've had this monitor (HP 2509b) for about 6 or 7 months and it's been fine, then today I was on the computer and out of the blue these lines appeared (white line near the top, red line down the right-center)

[picture in second post since I havent posted with this account yet. Sorry about that]




Is this something that I'm not going to be able to do anything about?

Also, are there any ideas as to what caused this? I feel like I haven't had the monitor nearly long enough for it to die..
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 07:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 07:46 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,660
Default

Panel is toast.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 08:03 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Panel is toast.
Care to elaborate?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 08:38 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by last_apoc View Post
Care to elaborate?

panel is finished
if it was not starting up maybe a bad cap

unless you find a dead one with bad psu....
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2012, 09:23 AM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 670

My System Specs

Default

Freak chance your cable developed a bad connection, as occasionally a laptop with lines can be caused by a bad connection..
Try swapping it. Almost guarantee it wont work, but pretty easy to try
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2012, 10:23 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clone63 View Post
Freak chance your cable developed a bad connection, as occasionally a laptop with lines can be caused by a bad connection..
Try swapping it. Almost guarantee it wont work, but pretty easy to try

Hmm. that does make me think of something. In less than a month, my PSU died, then a week later my graphics card died, and now my monitor.

I just moved into a a new apartment last month, and its very old, and the outlets are old and crappy. Is there any way THAT could be the real issue for my hardware problems? (or just really bad luck then haha). Also, if that did happen to be the problem, would getting a surge protector power bar help? (right now I have just a regular power bar)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2012, 11:29 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Maybe a ups would be better. Dont those clean up the line AC if its dirty?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2012, 01:40 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,319

My System Specs

Default

110% you need a UPS I have lived in old homes and seen just the same happen
__________________
Good Bye HWC it was great :)
Site and Forum:
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php

If you need me the link above is where I spend my days now
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2012, 04:10 PM
rfglass's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Elgin Grey/Bruce
Posts: 167

My System Specs

Default

UPS will supply power when line drops and will protect from surge also, in other words send clean power to equipment.Just remember you get what you pay for also so if your having these issues then don't cheap out on a UPS, That just my opinion anyway
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cellphone Repair in GVR??? jcmaz Off Topic 4 March 9, 2012 12:19 AM
OLD PC repair kendallcschm CPU's and Motherboards 38 January 18, 2010 09:17 PM
Pro Tips For DIY Repair bissa Off Topic 0 January 10, 2010 12:43 PM
Monitor repair services? ITaoI Display Units 4 November 26, 2008 09:42 AM
xp repair not a option dirtfarmer O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 June 15, 2008 05:50 AM