Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2012, 08:37 AM
Slaughter's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 351

My System Specs

Default ASUS REX Dead?

Hey!

I picked up a REX and upon powering it up, the ROG emblem and START buttons pulsate and with the first push of the start button, I'll see a glimpse of life, but nothing else. The lights continue to pulsate as long as there is power to the motherboard.

I have tried clearing the CMOS both using the button and removing the battery and draining it. I have also switched the BIOS pins but no such luck.

I just thought I would come here and see if anyone has any ideas or suggestions?

Cheers!

Slaughter
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2012, 08:52 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,256

My System Specs

Default

5char-Psu?
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2012, 08:55 AM
Slaughter's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 351

My System Specs

Default

Tried a couple PSU's.

It was pulled from a supposedly working system, sold to an individual who said it was DOA and then I picked it up.

I don't see any obvious signs such as bloated caps, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2012, 09:18 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,122

My System Specs

Default

What CPU? It may need a bios flash if you're trying to run a 3820. Original release BIOS didn't support those, they weren't released yet.

Any codes coming up on the LED display?

And you may find some more help here: Rampage Series Motherboards . I try not to point people elsewhere, but let's try and get your problem sorted out soonest.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2012, 09:22 AM
Slaughter's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 351

My System Specs

Default

I have an E6600 in it right now and plan on trying some other CPU's later tonight.

Nothing comes up on the LED display. I'll try posting on the ROG boards as well. Thanks SugarJ. :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2012, 09:43 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

try booting from second bios chip

use toggle switch or jumper
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram

Last edited by zsamz_; April 24, 2012 at 10:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2012, 11:27 AM
Slaughter's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 351

My System Specs

Default

I did give that a try. The jumper goes from Bios Selector -> Bios 1 -> Bios 2 and I tried all three settings without any success.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2012, 01:36 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaughter View Post
I did give that a try. The jumper goes from Bios Selector -> Bios 1 -> Bios 2 and I tried all three settings without any success.

your only hope is freezer or oven now
freezer for a few hours
oven 420f for 7-8min
odds are nb overheated n board died
my rex never went over 40c on load i seen some go over 60c on idle
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 03:40 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Default

try booting from second bios chip
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2012, 10:44 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

so

is it alive?
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
680i DEAD DEAD DEAD sizerkozak CPU's and Motherboards 29 February 9, 2007 10:08 PM