Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2012, 07:35 AM
Painbringer71's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 89

My System Specs

Default Multiplier and GHZ has mind of its own

I have a question. I have a newly built system that seems to have a mind of its own. First thing is when I CPUZ the system it shows it clocks at 3.1 then a few seconds later its 1.7 at the same time you can see the multiplier go from 15.5 to 7 and back and forth. When I go in the bios and change the power settings to performance power (this is in the basic bios option not advanced) the system ramps the CPU to 3.888 and then it toggles back and forth from 3.888 to 1.7 Ghz. (multiplier is still 15.5 to 7) I have no errors my system is cool on temps, but it seems odd the multiplier is changing on its own? I just want to make sure I do not have something set wrong. I have the most up-to-date bios. (system setup on my info tab)

Is this something to worry about?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2012, 07:47 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

sounds like eist intel speed management

Enhanced Intel SpeedStep® Technology - How To Document

or amd's cool n quite

and yes it's normal
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2012, 09:07 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,075

My System Specs

Default

Let me point you to this:

Whats up with my CPU? - A SpeedStep F.A.Q.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2012, 09:41 AM
Painbringer71's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 89

My System Specs

Default

Thanks

Originally I had an older version of CPUZ running which does not show the core clock moving. Then I grabbed the newer version and started seeing the numbers moving all over the place.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiplier Jumping in Cpu-z Blu Troubleshooting 28 April 2, 2011 04:35 PM
Stuck Multiplier DK2 Troubleshooting 5 August 24, 2008 04:22 PM
Cpu multiplier evzonas CPU's and Motherboards 3 August 7, 2008 04:26 PM
Effect of .5 multiplier on E8400? sswilson Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 May 10, 2008 07:24 PM
E6850 Multiplier dukelod CPU's and Motherboards 3 August 28, 2007 11:49 AM