Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2012, 07:36 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 32
Default Dram_led light, failure to post

I built my new system yesterday, and did it very slowly and carefully. I read my mobo manual, watched videos on Newegg and NCIX on how to build step-by-step, made sure to touch a metalic surface frequently, etc. I did not put too much thermal paste (MX-2) before installing the heatsink (CM Hyper 212 Evo) which is well in place. I didn't do anything wrong with the standoffs.

When I powered on the beauty, the CPU_led was lighted, but then quickly realized I had forgotten to plug in the 8-pin ATX power connector. Now, I re-checked all the SATA and power cables, made sure everything was plugged properly including the monitor. The CPU fans are also connected.

Then the CPU_led disappared but the DRAM_led is now red, and nothing appears on the monitor. The fans spin. But no post. I tried with one RAM module, tried all the memory slots, switched the RAM and did the same but to no avail. I pressed Memok with the 2 sticks of RAM and then with each one. The led flashed for a little while and then nothing. DRAM led still lighted red, no VGA signal.

I guess I could by that my RAM (G.Skill F3-12800CLD9-8GBXL) is not on the QVL. But I had looked around in the forums and everyone was saying they did not have any problem with this RAM and Mobo combo.

Also, perhaps that's just the color Asus choose, but the power on switch on the Mobo is red, nothing green.

I spent hours yesterday looking at troubleshooting threads. Frankly, I do not know what to do. I hope it's not the Motherboard; what a pain.

So what should I do? RMA the memory? Bring the system to a local technician?

Here are the specs:
Asus P8z68-v /GEN 3
i5 2500k
CM Hyper 212 Evo
G.Skill F3-12800CLD9-8GBXL
Crucial M4 128 GB
WD 2 TB Green Sata3
Antec True New 650W Semi-modular
Asus DVD burner
Corsair 400R

(I am waiting for my Gigabyte Radeon 7850)

Please help!
Thanks so much in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2012, 07:45 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

If you can, try a different graphics card, I have had 2 DOA videocards in the last 2 months (EVGA 560Ti 2win, EVGA590) and would not post without a working GPU.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2012, 07:59 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 32
Default

My video card is not yet installed i.e. I tested the system without a GPU card.

Last edited by Muad'Dib_53; March 22, 2012 at 08:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2012, 10:23 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 32
Default

I wanted try the system, to see if it would post, using integrated graphics, while my GPU was being shipped. Would you say that this could the cause???
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2012, 12:54 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default

you need to reset bios

first remove wall power cord from PSU, then push start button to drain power. then move CLRTC jumer to 2-3 from 1-2 wait 20 secondsthen put back to 1-2 position

those CPU power connections make sure use the left side if have one CPU power plug and the YELLOW wire is on the lock side of plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by Muad'Dib_53 View Post
I wanted try the system, to see if it would post, using integrated graphics, while my GPU was being shipped. Would you say that this could the cause???
no worries for its defaulted to boot onboard

i see a bios update Version 3201 is current with memory fixes , just wait till you get a boot screen to verifi bios version

Last edited by KaptCrunch; March 22, 2012 at 01:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2012, 01:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
you need to reset bios

first remove wall power cord from PSU, then push start button to drain power. then move CLRTC jumer to 2-3 from 1-2 wait 20 secondsthen put back to 1-2 position
Thanks, I tried this before but without draining power. Will try again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post

those CPU power connections make sure use the left side if have one CPU power plug and the YELLOW wire is on the lock side of plug
I am not sure to understand what you mean... Please explain.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2012, 04:06 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muad'Dib_53 View Post
Thanks, I tried this before but without draining power. Will try again.



I am not sure to understand what you mean... Please explain.

Thanks.
is the system booting yet ?

a picture is worth ? or read the manual
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2012, 07:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 32
Default

I did like you said.

Nothing changed. Fans spinning, no VGA, DRAM led lighted.

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2012, 07:59 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default posible cpu.....toasted?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muad'Dib_53 View Post
I did like you said.

Nothing changed. Fans spinning, no VGA, DRAM led lighted.

you have a system speaker working to listen to beeps while booting?

and the 4 boot LEDs show what order are lighted 1,2,3,4

Muad'Dib_53 where you live? maybe a HWC member close to you can help
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2012, 09:06 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
you have a system speaker working to listen to beeps while booting?

and the 4 boot LEDs show what order are lighted 1,2,3,4

Muad'Dib_53 where you live? maybe a HWC member close to you can help
I have a normal 2.1 system speaker, that was not connected... Will try this after lunch.

I live in Montreal.

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] I need light up fans :) Soullessone21 Buy/Sell & Trade 3 February 8, 2012 08:32 AM
Light therapy martin_metal_88 Off Topic 9 October 28, 2011 06:32 PM
HDD failure or Motherboard failure? Polygon Troubleshooting 3 December 4, 2010 08:48 PM
Low Light webcam? Pax Peripherals 0 October 19, 2010 07:38 AM
PS3 Mobo red light Overclocker~4.1 Troubleshooting 5 December 16, 2009 05:56 AM