Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2012, 12:38 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 128

My System Specs

Default Dear mother of god

okay so for the past 4 years or so I've been installing windows via a hard drive i mean who needs opticals those are so 2007. now the problem is I've run out of hard drive space in my case and I cant keep this awful 200GB sata 1 HD with the windows 7 install on it in my case anymore so I'm trying to get the boot manager off of this one hard drive and onto the main OS drive, now i've tried the following and bootsect say's it completed it successfully but it's a liar and soon as i unplug the hard drive windows wont boot.

nt60 c: /mbr
nt60 c: /mbr force
nt60 ALL /mbr force
nt60 mbr c: force
nt60 c: force /mbr


now clearly I'm doing something wrong

getting accessed denied when i try

{"nt60" or "SYS":ALL /force /mbr
__________________
i5 3570K @ 4.5GHZ // MSI-G45 // 16GB Corsair Vengance Blue // XFX 7970 // SilverStone Raven 03

SteelSeries 6Gv2 // SteelSeries Kana White // Steelseries Siberiasv2 White // BenQ XL2410T // Samsung 2233rz
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2012, 12:54 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,926

My System Specs

Default

It won't do anything if it finds a working bootloader if I recall.

Put your Windows 7 media onto a USB key (Install Windows 7 with a USB Key), boot from that, and chose the Statup Repair or whatever it's called. It should automatically fix it for you. Otherwise you can pull up a command prompt and enter those commands from there.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2012, 01:18 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 128

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
It won't do anything if it finds a working bootloader if I recall.

Put your Windows 7 media onto a USB key (Install Windows 7 with a USB Key), boot from that, and chose the Statup Repair or whatever it's called. It should automatically fix it for you. Otherwise you can pull up a command prompt and enter those commands from there.
:$ i tried doing this first but it just said that the files were corrupt on the USB key guess ill try a different ISO?
__________________
i5 3570K @ 4.5GHZ // MSI-G45 // 16GB Corsair Vengance Blue // XFX 7970 // SilverStone Raven 03

SteelSeries 6Gv2 // SteelSeries Kana White // Steelseries Siberiasv2 White // BenQ XL2410T // Samsung 2233rz
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2012, 04:36 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,926

My System Specs

Default

Yeah...I've never had any issues.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2012, 06:01 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

Boot a Linux Live CD and use dd to copy over the boot sector. Just watch you don't overshoot.
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dear Esther test and review XavSNT Gaming 4 February 18, 2012 11:32 AM
VGS 4: Dear God, Think of the Children, Edmonton, June 25 -26 Velocityraptor Canadian LAN Parties & Events 1 June 15, 2011 01:32 PM
oh dear i think i want one coleo Peripherals 11 April 28, 2011 01:28 PM
Dear CoolIT and Corsair Rison Water Cooling 22 January 24, 2011 09:20 AM
Stock market...dear god what a mess Mark Off Topic 30 November 22, 2008 08:47 PM