Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2012, 07:09 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 709
Default Driver issue or GPU dying

Recently updated to 12.1 then 12.2 drivers from AMD and notice this in Civ 5:



Don't exactly know what's going on.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2012, 02:34 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,415

My System Specs

Default

The pic is kinda small, what's the problem? The only thing I can see is that it's set to display hex squares rather than the standard map.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2012, 04:02 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 709
Default

The grey part is suppose to be clouds, which are suppose to be fluffy and white-ish. It also start to turn red & brown and start to flicker. The problem seem to be confined to Civ 5 only as World of Tank would seem to operate fine. I double check the game cache via Steam and it had to re-acquire some files all the time.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2012, 04:36 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 423

My System Specs

Default

same ? I always ask, did you uninstall drivers, use driver sweeper, ccleaner to clean out remaning crud, reinstall drivers, if not, it might be worth doing. I have noticed a hair of texture/flickering issues with cat 12.2 in killing floor and a bit in bf3, but the performance is there, and that I like :)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2012, 04:29 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 709
Default

I did reinstall the driver via the uninstall manager but not using driver sweeper and ccleaner. Going to do that now and see if there's improvements. Oddly enough, once I re-acquired those corrupted game files via Steam, the problem goes away but comes back later.

** Driver Sweeper is dead, another suggestion?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2012, 06:01 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

I'm not really sure why you need to use driver sweeper considering the vid driver files are being completely over written with files using the EXACT same name. I have never used a sweeper program and I have never had issues updating drivers. The only time this would even be an issue is if you were changing vid cards to another brand or a another new version. If its the same vid card sweeping files isn't nessicary.

I would say you should roll back to the old driver just to double check that it isn't a dying GPU 1st. Save you the time of re-installing the game. IF the game responds the same you'll answer a couple trouble shooting questions.

Corrupted game files is obviously something you need to deal with.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2012, 07:10 PM
techman95's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 322

My System Specs

Default

so do you play bf3? and if you do do you have similar issues? b/c since updating to 12.2 i cant stay in a game for more than 30 sec and i have weird things like this happen as well so might fall back to 12.1 what a pita.
__________________
Amd....definitely a blond female.....not much on the cpu side, but always strutting about showing off her gpus
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2012, 09:06 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 709
Default

No I don't own BF3 so I can't say exactly if it's the driver or the GPU. After all I'm using an old 4850.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2012, 02:47 AM
lilmoja's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Vancouver,BC
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

Rollback drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2012, 05:05 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 709
Default

OK I rolled back the driver and tried the latest one for 4850 and now I'm getting computer lock up and "driver crash" error in CIV5. The temp is 68C, is that too hot?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd Driver Issue Arinoth Troubleshooting 6 March 5, 2010 09:24 AM
CPU dying??? Lamb Troubleshooting 9 December 8, 2009 01:10 PM
ATI 9-11 Driver Issue with 3870x2 card Shredder Troubleshooting 0 November 29, 2009 09:08 AM
nVIDEA Geforce 6200 - Driver issue??? mattydies Video Cards 20 February 29, 2008 11:07 AM
A7N8X driver/bios issue ebdoradz CPU's and Motherboards 8 January 26, 2008 10:05 AM