Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2012, 02:44 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 51

My System Specs

Default Second HDD goes inactive

Hi. I have an OCZ Vertex 3 120gb boot drive and a Hitachi 2tb storage drive.

None of my programs run off of the hdd so far. All of my music and pictures are on it though. If try to save a new picture online it seems like the computer freezes for a couple seconds as the hdd spins up. I think that drive turns off after a short time.

I went into my power save options. There was no option to turn OFF hdd sleep mode, so I set it for 600 minutes. Is this the proper way of keeping this drive active?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2012, 02:53 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Delete the numbers in the time box. Should default to "Never".
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inactive Desktop DRYJESUS Troubleshooting 9 November 2, 2010 02:00 PM
CPU use @ 57% and inactive processe use 93% of the CPu WTH ebdoradz Off Topic 6 February 26, 2008 06:34 PM