Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2012, 06:46 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 74
Default Physical Memory 90% - WTF?

Hey guys,
out of no where my 1 year old system started to give me new random memory problems i have never had before.

My ram is at 90% physical memory.
I have 4gb ram installed.
I have about 80-90 processes running at boot up with 1.25gb ram in usage.
After a days of uptime with a mix of torrenting video watching and gaming it gets locked at 3.5gb in usage even after closing all programs and apps.

Is there a mem_release command or a way to stop this from happening, thx!
Edit:
Ran mem diag tool, no errors found.
The lock up seems to be fixed to kernel memory in the non paged pool. Is this a driver issue?
Attached Images
 

Last edited by elimtl; February 27, 2012 at 07:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2012, 07:09 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

Check the processes tab in your task manager and see what's taking up all of that. It's probably a memory leak in a program.
That nonpaged kernel memory is very high (mine is 74MB), so drivers are a likely culprit. Update all drivers you can just to try (except for storage drivers if you're on an AMD platform, since AMD storage drivers have other issues).
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2012, 09:02 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 74
Default

i had the 295 beta nvdia drivers installed which coincided w the event timing.
I updated to the released 295 drivers and it seems ok for now.

The cat possibly lost its 9 lives but ill keep you posted.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2012, 12:47 AM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vicecaptain View Post
Y system also has become very low in physical memory. what shall i do?
Open up the task manager and click on the Processes tab. Then in that window click memory which should put the programs in order of how much memory they are using. You should be able to easily tell what is using all the memory. Lets us know what's using up the memory and we can further help you to fix it.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2012, 09:13 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

yes like everyone else suggested look in the task managers process, and see what is using all of that memory
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2012, 12:50 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 432

My System Specs

Default

or up to 8gb system memory, you will not have to worry as much, and it can help things be faster(ddr3 ram is dirt cheap for 8gb 2x4gb sticks can get for like $30 for 1333 sets or $45 for 1600 sets of 8gb, I like the 1600 myself, not much more, and the extra bandwidth helps quite a bit especially for work related things, ripping movies, folding etc)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2012, 10:27 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Yeah, I would just add another 4 GB of Ram. I have 16 in mine. RAM is so cheap.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2012, 10:49 AM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,092

My System Specs

Default

try cold shut down it will start back at low use and go up each time you put computer to sleeep. That is if its same bug i uesed to have.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDD Problem: Second Physical Drive Not Showing Up (URGENT) mlauzon Troubleshooting 5 February 22, 2012 01:26 PM
Physical display size and video memory BADPhoenix Display Units 5 February 5, 2012 03:50 PM
2 OS physical drives, swap partitions? 3.0charlie Storage 3 August 21, 2011 09:07 AM
How do you destroy your graphics card without doing any physical damage? NineLives Video Cards 22 August 7, 2011 07:29 PM
Got a letter back from Gigabyte saying I have physical damage to my MB I sent in Shadowmeph O/S's, Drivers & General Software 8 September 8, 2009 02:04 PM