Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 02:06 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Default Booting Problems

Hello. First I would like to thank everyone for reading this long post. I will try to be as concise as possible to give the forum a good understanding of my problem.

Problem: Computer will not boot when attempting to power on unless I do a hard reset on the PSU (switch the button from 0 to 1). After turning on, the computer will bring me to the UEFI BIOS where I have to select which drive to boot from.

My Current Build:
Case: Antec Eleven Hundred
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 B3 Revision
CPU: Intel Xeon E31245 @ 3.3 GHz
CPU Cooler: Corsair H60
GPU: Asus GTX 560 Ti Direct Cu II
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB (4x4) @ 1600mhz
SSD: Intel 320 300GB @ 3.0 Gb/s
HDD: WD Caviar Green 2TB @ 5400 RPM
Sound Card: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Cooler Master GX 750W
Case Fans: 3x 120mm (2 intake) ; 200mm (exhaust)

History:
My very first computer build was a similar set up except it had a Zalman Heatsink 120mm fan and Corsair 4GB XMS @ 1333Mhz memory in a Cooler Master Elite 430 case. After I put everything together I went to power the system on and it did not boot. After getting rid of the rat's nest of the wires the system booted fine and I thought nothing of it.

During 7 months of use, it rarely had random restarts. It happened about once a month.

3 Weeks ago, I decided I wanted a Corsair H60. I had to take my system apart to install it into such a tiny case and this is when this problem first started to occur. I remembered I had a rat's nest cable problem so I decided to go out and buy a case with great cable management.

2 Weeks ago I bought the Antec Eleven Hundred and was completely meticulous with my cable management (looks pretty damn impressive). There is no rat's nest whats so ever... but this problem still occurred. So I did some research and came up to with the conclusion that it must be a faulty PSU.

Today I went out and bought a brand new Corsair TX650M PSU. I spent 5 hours tearing down my system and putting it back together only to discover that it has the same problem.

I am completely frustrated and don't know what my next step is. I now suspect the motherboard but would like some input on where to go from here, any advice is welcomed.

Again, sorry for the long post and thank you in advanced.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 03:03 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

motherboard is grounding somewhere
chek backplate if its bent touching board
put electricttape under standoffs
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 03:37 AM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

When you did your testing did you do it all out of case for several hours or a days? If it works fine out of the case on a test platform but once installed you get problems you have a grounding issue like zsamz_ said. Make sure you don't have any extra standoffs installed under the mobo and check if there are any unusually long contacts sticking out the back of the mobo.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 04:00 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the quick feed back!

After someone @ tomshardware suggested to reset the CMOS Bios. I then discovered that my CMOS jumper is missing! I took one off an old computer and the problem seems to have been resolved. But I will be back with an update tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 06:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Default

After replacing the CMOS jumper, everything is working!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC booting problems lazypanda Troubleshooting 0 December 17, 2010 03:33 PM
Computer booting problems AaronDM Troubleshooting 14 May 12, 2010 11:06 AM
Dual booting linux/win 7 problems BrokenHalo83 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 16 March 13, 2010 09:03 AM
Dual Booting causing problems for the 1st time element291 Troubleshooting 5 May 15, 2009 05:47 PM
Booting problems on a 5 months old computer foxman Troubleshooting 12 November 21, 2008 05:06 PM