Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2012, 05:48 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Default 6650M not being utilized

Hey everyone, this is my first thread on this forum, I recently have ran into a problem with my laptop. It is an ASUS K53TA, the specs include an AMD A6-3400M, a AMD Radeon HD 6520G (integrated into APU), a AMD Radeon HD 6650M, and the usual RAM (8 gigs). My 6650M is not being utilized at all, they are both listed in my device manager though. I've tried to reset it back to factory probably over 15 times, I lost count. The partition is not working whatsoever. When i first got the computer I was getting a blue screen and it told me to disable the BIOS memory options. In my head I did not want to risk breaking the thing so I first called ASUS support and they told me to use the partition on the hard drive so I did. The blue screen errors are now gone but i have the problem that my 6650M is not being recognized, or used. Oh, and after the BIOS memory option blue screens, when I was updationg the graphics drivers I would get another blue screen and it would say something like ATIKMGDAG.sys. So there is probably something wrong with the drivers because I have updated BIOS, downloaded the latest drivers and ran a driver sweeper and then put the new ones on, disabled crossfire then re-enabled, basically everything from what I know. All of my GPU-Z readings are in the attachments. I hope that someone can finally help me out and get this pain re-enabled. Thanks to all!
Attached Images
       
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2012, 05:57 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

Very odd you should be seeing a 6720G on there like my brothers K53TA, Where are you located?
I will have one of my team contact you but if your out of my Area I can have another Asus Team contact you, I think it is worth running memtest on your system as well as updating your bios.

Oh an welcome to the Form I'm Soul and I am your friendly Vancouver Island Asus Engineer :D

PS are you running the A6 or A4 APU??
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2012, 06:03 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,521

My System Specs

Default

Probably a silly question, but we need to start somewhere.... ;)

I'm assuming that this isn't a wall/battery power issue? My AMD laptop downshifts to the lower GFX when it's not plugged into the wall. Is it also safe to assume that you're putting a GFX load onto the laptop prior to checking for your 6650M utilisation? (If it's not under 3d load then the lower power gfx will run on it's own).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2012, 06:04 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

good point set your system to high performance on and off battery see if that changes it?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2012, 07:34 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Default

@soullessone21 I live in Michigan, one of my good friends pointed me to here since he is a user and a couple of nice guys helped him with his computer. In my device manager I see both the chips, the 6650M and the 6520G. I've already updated my BIOS to the newest version and I've ran a memory test a couple of times and got nothing. My laptop is always set to high performance and my battery is always out, I've put it back in a couple times to see if it changed it, and I am using an A6-3400M. @sswilson yeah I had the AMD System Monitor up when i was testing it out with watching HD videos, and a couple games like Left 4 Dead 2, and Fallout 3. The entire load is on the 6520G, the highest I've seen the load go on the 6650M has been like 1 or 2 percent while playing a game. I think it has something to do with it being disabled. But in the device manager it says it is enabled, but in GPU-Z it says it is disabled and I have no clue why.

Last edited by tommythompson45; February 19, 2012 at 08:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2012, 08:22 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,945
Default

chipset 2012.01.19 update
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2012, 08:31 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Default

@KaptCrunch the 2012.01.19 update is for 32bit windows, I have 64bit :/
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2012, 03:59 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Default

For anyone that was wondering, this is what I see in MSI Afterburner and AMD System Monitor. I'm using these two because they are good references. As you can see all the at the beginning of the thread it for some reason says that the 6650M is disabled in GPU-Z, and in GPU-Z for the 6520G it says that I have 3 GPU's enabled. I have no clue why but it also says that in MSI Afterburner, GPU1 in Afterburner is the 6650M, but it says the usage is 0. GPU2 and GPU3 are both my 6520G, I am so confused by why it is saying that I have two 6520G's. In Afterburner it also says farther down on the hardware monitor that my GPU1 (6650M) has a core clock of 100 MHz and a memory clock of 150 MHz. Also, the AMD System Monitor is showing that I have a 6520G and a 7670M instead of registering the 6720G2 on there??????????????? I'm sorry everyone for overflowing the information but I am trying to provide as much as I can.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
amd radeon hd 6650m. , asus. , ati. , error , help.

Thread Tools
Display Modes