Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 12:20 PM
Computergeek's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 148

My System Specs

Default laggy computer...I think its hardware related

Hello,

I just build a new computer and it choppy and laggy extremely bad i can't play any games because it so bad and i think its hardware related. I will tell you the specs of my computer and maybe someone might be able to point out a problem cause i sure can't

Asus P5K(Have the latest bios upgrade and last chipset i think...:S)
Intel E6750
Nvidia BFG 8500GT (Have latest drivers)
2 x Buffalo D2U667C-1G/BR 1GB PC2-5300 DDR2-667 CL5 240PIN DIMM Memory (Not on the QVL for the motherboard
OCZ 600Watt PSU
Western Digital WDC800BB Hard Drive
LG DVD-Rewriter (SATA)

I dont know what is causing my system to lag so much, and i hoping someone on here can tell me plz....

thanks
Computergeek
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 12:44 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I don't see any obvious problems with the components-
Which operating system are you running?
Are there any processes in your task manager that are taking massive amount of memory?
Does it still do it when you are dosconnected from the net?

should also go into the bioc and have a look at the settings- what is the FSB set at etc...
what are the memory settings
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 12:49 PM
Computergeek's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 148

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
I don't see any obvious problems with the components-
Which operating system are you running?
Are there any processes in your task manager that are taking massive amount of memory?
Does it still do it when you are dosconnected from the net?

should also go into the bioc and have a look at the settings- what is the FSB set at etc...
what are the memory settings

I am running windows XP Pro SP2
No i shut everthing down before
Yes I play offline alot and it is worst
The FSB is 1333 and the memory is set at 5-5-5-15
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 01:30 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

And you're not getting any BSOD, crashing or restarts?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 01:33 PM
Computergeek's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 148

My System Specs

Default

I just recently bought the motherboard and CPU. Before that i had the Graphics card and ram and hard drive in the old computer with a MSI and P4 Chip and i thought the game was laggin because of the small CPU. So i upgraded the motherboard and CPU and moved the harddrive, ram and graphics card overs and it is still doing the same thing so it makes me wonder that its 1 of those 3 things......you think thats safe to assume?

i posted this before i seen your reply and no, no crashes or anything just really choppy game play thats all.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 01:36 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Well- the problem is probably the drivers that are on the old hard drive- I would do a clean install of windows and load the motherboard and video drivers on all nice and fresh


Just noticed you started to separate threads for the same issue- :-o
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 01:40 PM
Computergeek's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 148

My System Specs

Default

where in the motherboard CPU section, yea i felt it was in the wrong section.

i have done a fresh install of windows 3 times and it hasn't fix it yet
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 01:43 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

8500 could be a bottleneck for the system? Everything else in the system seems a step or two above it.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 01:46 PM
Computergeek's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 148

My System Specs

Default

Yea i was thinking that also but a friends has the same video card and he is running the quad core q6600 and it runs perfect
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 01:50 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Well if thats the case then its time to eliminate some options. I'd say bring your system over to your friends place and spend an afternoon trying his parts in your system one by one (assuming theyre compatible) and seeing which bugger is causing the laggyness. I still think that Video card is a little underpowered for that system... but some things like weird ram can affect your systems speed, as well as bios settings... Which reminds me, do you have the latest bios installed on your motherboard?
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes