Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2012, 07:03 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rocky Mountain House
Posts: 829

My System Specs

Default No video display after switching out RAM

Hey all,

I just went to install the new RAM kits I bought from jibz (thanks man!) but in order to install them I had to remove the hyper 212+ I'd installed a couple of weeks ago (blocking a RAM slot)
When I went to pull that off it came off alright...along with the CPU that was stuck to it.

I've tried reseating the cpu (x2 550) but I noticed there are a couple bent pins on it - does that matter?

When I get everything put back together everything powers on OK but there's no display on the screen. I had the exact same issue when I first built the machine & found it was due to an improperly seated cpu.
I reinstalled the video card just in case but it made no difference.

So I'm at a loss as to what else it could be. I suspect it's the cpu that's not seated correctly, but I've reseated it 7-8 times & it makes no difference. Would those couple of bent pins be the problem?

Thanks for any ideas.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2012, 07:04 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,084

My System Specs

Default

Absolutely. All pins must be straight, and fit in the proper holes in the socket.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2012, 07:17 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

a simmillar thing happened to myself and I had to straighten out the pins using a pencil pen without any lead in it, it was tricky for myself becasue my eyes are not the greatest ut I was able to straighten out 6 bent pins
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2012, 08:10 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rocky Mountain House
Posts: 829

My System Specs

Default

Well I got the pins straightened out in the cpu seems to be sitting OK but I'm still not seeing any picture.
Reinstalled the MB & all cards too but no difference.
Even tried the old RAM but it still no go.

Anyone have any other ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2012, 08:15 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

Are you sure you aren't missing any pins now after being bent and seated into the socket? Also in the future when taking a cpu cooler off give it a bit of a twist back and fourth should loosen the thermal paste so that it doesn't pull the cpu out too.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2012, 08:23 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rocky Mountain House
Posts: 829

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silent_Avenger View Post
Are you sure you aren't missing any pins now after being bent and seated into the socket? Also in the future when taking a cpu cooler off give it a bit of a twist back and fourth should loosen the thermal paste so that it doesn't pull the cpu out too.
Checked that & everything looks OK. Thanks for the twisting tip though - will do that next time I need to remove the heatsink
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2012, 08:30 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

Yea thermal paste depending on which type can pretty much act like glue if you pull straight up without twisting first. Do you get any beep codes from the motherboard?
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2012, 08:39 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rocky Mountain House
Posts: 829

My System Specs

Default

Nope, no beeps at all
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2012, 08:57 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

If you get no beeps from the motherboard speaker that usually means it's dead. double check all your connections just in case.

Edit: Did you have the 212 installed so it's blowing air up?
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.

Last edited by Silent_Avenger; February 15, 2012 at 09:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2012, 09:40 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rocky Mountain House
Posts: 829

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silent_Avenger View Post

Edit: Did you have the 212 installed so it's blowing air up?
Nope, down.
Well...headed to bed for the night since I'm sick of fighting with this thing - will try again tomorrow night.
Thanks for the help so far
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching from AMD to Intel Insanity Killz New Builds 9 March 2, 2012 05:07 PM
Physical display size and video memory BADPhoenix Display Units 5 February 5, 2012 03:50 PM
Secondary USB Display not working with ASUS Video card Brad P Troubleshooting 1 May 23, 2009 06:48 AM
Radeon 4870 Video Display Problems magixx Troubleshooting 2 October 3, 2008 12:54 PM
HD Switching Fake2591 Troubleshooting 7 July 5, 2007 12:21 PM