Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2012, 11:39 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Default Avermedia C027 Capture Card Input Lag? Help Please

Hey everyone... just received my Avermedia C027 capture card today. One thing I noticed when I connected everything and started recording.... a noticeable delay in my controls when I play on my Xbox. I use an HDMI Splitter (non-powered) and connect on HDMI cable to the capture card and the other one to the monitor.

What's causing the lag.... is it the capture card device or the splitter?

Same question for the Hauppauge HD PVR, does the device itself create any sort of lag while playing?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2012, 11:53 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xNiTRo View Post
Hey everyone... just received my Avermedia C027 capture card today. One thing I noticed when I connected everything and started recording.... a noticeable delay in my controls when I play on my Xbox. I use an HDMI Splitter (non-powered) and connect on HDMI cable to the capture card and the other one to the monitor.

What's causing the lag.... is it the capture card device or the splitter?

Same question for the Hauppauge HD PVR, does the device itself create any sort of lag while playing?

Thanks!
Quite common for this and nothing you can do about it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2012, 12:43 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Quite common for this and nothing you can do about it.
What's causing the delay? Is it the device itself or the HDMI splitter?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2012, 08:39 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

The device will have some lag because the computer has to process the incoming signal. However if you have it split off and you have lag on a connection directly to a monitor or tv and there's still lag it will be because of the splitter or monitor/tv itself.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2012, 09:00 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,718

My System Specs

Default

IIRC my card is a C027. It only lags if you use 1080i. I have no issues whatsoever with 720p though.(at least none that I have noticed) I used to use a PS3 with this card as it's only display and now use an Xbox360 with this card as it's only display.
*shrug*

What are the specs of your PC? However even the terribly slow 2.1GHz RM-72 Turion junk in my notebook can do 720p reasonably well as far as I recall from the tests I did. (with the card connected via a PCI-E to mPCI-E adapter)

Last edited by MacJunky; February 6, 2012 at 09:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2012, 10:31 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: East Van
Posts: 50

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xNiTRo View Post
I use an HDMI Splitter (non-powered) and connect on HDMI cable to the capture card and the other one to the monitor.
You're looking at your PC output on the monitor, not the split HDMI from the Xbox. Change the input on the monitor to select the split HDMI instead of the PC.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2012, 06:35 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacJunky View Post
IIRC my card is a C027. It only lags if you use 1080i. I have no issues whatsoever with 720p though.(at least none that I have noticed) I used to use a PS3 with this card as it's only display and now use an Xbox360 with this card as it's only display.
*shrug*

What are the specs of your PC? However even the terribly slow 2.1GHz RM-72 Turion junk in my notebook can do 720p reasonably well as far as I recall from the tests I did. (with the card connected via a PCI-E to mPCI-E adapter)
i7 920
gtx 285
4 gb of RAM
some EVGA motherboard...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ardric View Post
You're looking at your PC output on the monitor, not the split HDMI from the Xbox. Change the input on the monitor to select the split HDMI instead of the PC.
I have the splitter cable (the male part) connected to the xbox, then one cable goes to the capture card, and the other one goes to the monitor.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Capture Card issues Mr. Gruntsworthy Troubleshooting 4 May 10, 2011 11:14 AM
Looking for a capture card, not sure what options I have... GameOnTurtle HTPC Systems & Software 11 March 22, 2011 04:35 PM
Video capture card recommendations? chrisk HTPC Systems & Software 0 June 2, 2010 11:14 AM
Capture Card | TV Tuner Mr. Gruntsworthy HTPC Systems & Software 4 March 16, 2009 05:04 AM
TV tuner/Capture card the_bandit87 Video Cards 2 November 14, 2007 11:16 AM