Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2012, 07:02 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 715
Default Problem with SyncMaster 953BW display

I'm starting to get these odd problems. I would go power down the display but it would try to switch from DVI to VGA instead or bring up the display adjustment menu instead. No, I'm that drunk when I try to turn it off and the power button is pretty far apart from the other buttons. Also, today when it powers up, there's only 2 thin vertical lines. I power cycle and the problem went away. What exactly am I dealing with here?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2012, 07:09 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default

sounds like capacitors are dead or dying. They can be replaced if you are good with a soldiering iron or you can have a tv repair guy fix it for you. The parts are about 2-5 bux. Braineater has fixed more than one monitor by replacing the caps.

Problem is the makers use caps that are JUST within spec so a power surge or brownout can ruin these things.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2012, 07:13 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 715
Default

Would a slow start up also a problem? I got a 940MW as well which is really slow to bring up when I switch to DVI input.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2012, 09:11 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

If you don't want to get involved like that I'll take 'em :)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2012, 09:50 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 715
Default

Sorry, I can't afford to get new monitors so I'll fix them myself. Not exactly newbie when it comes to soldering. Guess I'll order the repair kits online, too lazy to order them from local stores.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2012, 10:32 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,536

My System Specs

Default

Prepare for it to die, I have a 216BW and it did the same thing, then died 2 weeks later.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2012, 01:35 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default

You'll need to take apart the monitor and inspect the capacitors. Then you'll need to research which ones you need to replace. I'll get Brain to post here for you so he can point you in the right direction.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2012, 01:53 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 715
Default

I found a website call LCD Alternative that sell kits. Their site say no international order but they got an eBay store front that does have shipping to Canada. Can you ask Brain where he got his caps? The kits is only $13 + shipping so it's not too expensive.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2012, 02:07 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default

yes I have messaged him to post here i'm sure he will before the end of the day.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2012, 02:15 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,510
Default

Hey.

The first thing to do is to take it apart far enough to see the electrolytic capacitors in the power supply ..this is usually where they fail.It will be obvious which ones are blown if this is indeed the problem.

When I replace em , I use 105c rated capacitors , same capacitance , next highest voltage (ie, if it's a 16volt cap, use a 25 volt unit to replace it.....).

I just buy Capacitors from one of many electronics suppliers here in Calgary , I'm sure there will be something close to you....just look in the yellowpages.

There's always a chance this isn't the problem but it's pretty common.



edit : here's my original post about this ; My LCD monitor has gone black/won't come out of standby
__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...

Last edited by BrainEater; January 19, 2012 at 02:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Samsung SyncMaster 2343bwx jibz Buy/Sell & Trade 4 June 12, 2013 06:44 AM
Asus A7PRO display problem enzo matrix CPU's and Motherboards 7 July 9, 2010 08:08 PM
[WTB] Samsung syncmaster 941bw mchutch Buy/Sell & Trade 0 March 19, 2010 11:27 AM
Samsung SyncMaster 2263UW Roger Franklin Display Units 0 October 4, 2008 01:40 PM
Dual-Display Monitor: Samsung SyncMaster 2263DX Review Hardware Canucks Display Units 5 August 25, 2008 10:21 PM