Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2012, 06:31 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 96

My System Specs

Default GTX 580 HDMI sound

Hi,

I have a GTX 580 from EVGA
i connected it to my HDTV through HDMI
but I cant get any sound.
is there something i need to change in the settings?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2012, 11:11 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 96

My System Specs

Default

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2012, 11:12 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mardig88 View Post
Any ideas?
Check your audio properties in Windows to see what is set as your default audio device. Its probably set to your onboard and you'll need to change it to over to the HDMI.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2012, 11:23 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,585

My System Specs

Default

Yep, sounds like the default sound isn't set to the HDMI audio of the 580.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2012, 11:33 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 96

My System Specs

Default

How do I set the default? I use the onboard audio of my said p8z68
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2012, 11:38 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mardig88 View Post
How do I set the default? I use the onboard audio of my said p8z68
Control Panel under Sound.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2012, 11:57 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 96

My System Specs

Default

Thanks! I will give it a try tonight when I get home
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2012, 03:13 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,934
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mardig88 View Post
Thanks! I will give it a try tonight when I get home
also get curent video drivers an check audio box install on install app
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2012, 07:07 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 96

My System Specs

Default

thanks for the support
the issue was the default device

is there a way to have both my speakers and the hdmi output active at the same time?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2012, 07:36 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,585

My System Specs

Default

I don't think there is a way with onboard sound and windows drivers. You typically need a separate sound card (from onboard) that'll let you mirror the sound across 2 devices.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does this card have sound via HDMI? Blu Video Cards 6 January 12, 2011 12:11 PM
Sound via HDMI out not loud enough slay3r HTPC Systems & Software 3 March 7, 2010 08:52 AM
Sound via HDMI to TV Bond007 Troubleshooting 20 February 16, 2010 04:09 PM
HDMI and no sound Wurmer Troubleshooting 12 July 3, 2009 04:17 PM
No HDMI sound from my P5E-VM biff O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 January 8, 2009 06:45 PM