Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2012, 07:48 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 27
Default

I am running Windows 7 at the moment. I just want to make sure is it a possibility that it is the video card not the ram?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2012, 08:08 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 464

My System Specs

Default

If you suspect it's the video card it looks like your MB has integrated graphics. Remove your card and run a stability test using the on board graphics. As others have said mixing memory isn't always the best have you tried with just one brand or the other?
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2012, 08:10 PM
bignick277's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 168

My System Specs

Default

In the case of the graphics card itself. No. I can't find anything linking a graphics card to this issue. Possibility of a graphics card driver issue. Maybe. Again, I can't confirm specifically. It is listed that drivers can cause this issue, but as to specific drivers, there's not really enough info. You could try updating your drivers or if you already have, try back-dating them. But until the memory avenue is checked and fully eliminated, I can't offer any other suggestion at this point.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2012, 08:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 27
Default

I tried running battlefield 3 with just the corsair ram and it crashed. I am now trying the Kingston. Plan of action. Memtest86 the corsair ram.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2012, 09:25 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 464

My System Specs

Default

Can you recall anything you did a few weeks before it started crashing? Like driver updates, windows updates, new hardware, etc?
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2012, 04:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 27
Default

I have not had new hardware since January last year, I have recently reinstalled Windows 7 twice. All my software is new.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD When Playing Games slippy Troubleshooting 6 March 9, 2011 05:47 AM
Vista WMP crashes when playing audio files. SadisticMonkey O/S's, Drivers & General Software 7 October 23, 2009 09:49 PM
BSOD When playing game....again..... Rocco_360 Troubleshooting 4 August 4, 2009 06:57 PM
Wierd crashes? No BSOD chouchou Troubleshooting 20 January 22, 2009 02:50 AM
BSOD while playing COD4 3 times in a row zlojack Troubleshooting 31 January 22, 2008 12:38 AM