Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2012, 02:47 PM
Keltron 3030's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt. Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 621

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by headsh0t View Post
__________________
FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU-
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2012, 02:49 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,785

My System Specs

Default

rrrake, as a new member you should be expecting us to assume you don't know much. It's just safer that way for us to assume that, as well as being true for most new members. If someone new came onto here not really knowing stuff, and we told them to go solder their motherboard instead of pulling the battery, that would be giving terrible advice. We have no way to know what you can/can't do unless you tell us. (Which you didn't)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacJunky View Post
In addition I am not trying to be a dick..
I'm calling bullshit on that!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2012, 02:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sarnia
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacJunky View Post
Look, may I just say that not everybody who comes across this will have done extensive googling. For all we know someone might find this before being told to pull the battery. In addition not everybody has a soldering iron or knows how to use it; this can lead to people desperately trying other ways of getting it done and that can result in damage. Even people who can kinda wield an iron may not be very experienced and tend to overheat parts.

I would suggest that you instruct to pull the battery first and then break out the soldering iron as plan B. Just to cover all bases.

In addition I am not trying to be a dick..

But I generally advise against dinking with random jumpers. They are on the board for a reason and if you need extras then grab one from a dead drive or dead board. Better yet remove them from dead drives and boards before you recycle them and keep a stash of jumpers, both the larger common ones and also the ittybitty ones they used to use on old SCSI drives and whatnot.
I'm not sure how that isn't being a dick but I'll take your word for it.

But really, would you expect pulling out a jumper from a board would trip this, causing the board to not post? I assumed when I put it back it would be the same, it didn't have power.

I'm trying to NOT packrat my hardware these days, its rare when I actually need a jumper.



I guess I maybe have too much faith in some people, this is a out of warranty nothing else works fix, fix. I figured that was obvious when I posted it, but maybe I shouldn't assume anything.

But, I don't know anyone willing to solder a wire onto a board before they have tried EVERYTHING else possible? If you are reading this reader, and you are that person, TRY EVERYTHING ELSE POSSIBLE FIRST, PLEASE. But if it doesn't work. Soldering that wire WILL work.
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2012, 02:58 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,797

My System Specs

Default

Heh... now simmer down folks.... ;)

Points given and taken on all sides, let's either play nice in this particular sandbox, or find another corner of the playground to hang out in for a while.... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2012, 03:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sarnia
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Heh... now simmer down folks.... ;)

Points given and taken on all sides, let's either play nice in this particular sandbox, or find another corner of the playground to hang out in for a while.... :)
MODERATED. :)

  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2012, 03:03 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,970
Default solder less method

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrrake View Post
But, I don't know anyone willing to solder a wire onto a board before they have tried EVERYTHING else possible? If you are reading this reader, and you are that person, TRY EVERYTHING ELSE POSSIBLE FIRST, PLEASE. But if it doesn't work. Soldering that wire WILL work.
but iron must be a ESD type of soldering iron, if not kiss MB goodbye for non-ESD iron

will introduce Vac to circuits from tip.

best is just strip some copper strand wire and take a few strands and wrap around pins to connect

and cover with electricial tape if have no jumpers
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2012, 03:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sarnia
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
but iron must be a ESD type of soldering iron, if not kiss MB goodbye for non-ESD iron

will introduce Vac to circuits from tip.

best is just strip some copper strand wire and take a few strands and wrap around pins to connect

and cover with electricial tape if have no jumpers
Good advice, thanks!
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2012, 09:21 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Default

i am a motion designer and effects compositor and as such i have a custom build pc... first of to the OP ignore all the negative comments because only the people that really got this problem in these mother boards (mine being a p5e3 deluxe) can know how frustraded they have been. this is not the same fix as a clear cmos to reset its hardware configuration because in this case its the winbond chip that is the hardware problem. further it has to do with any high frequency signal and the way it locks the binary answer to each property. so clearing cmos or removing battery or any of the firmware is pretty dumb when the problem starts before and ends after the cmos. thats why you can boot up your system on default only once after a clear cmos. then the nvram reads one time and writes down the intrusion after powering up again. i have been considering removing the s72 but your fix has a lot of sense to it.. just tell us what to solder to what! i deeply thank you for this info.
  #19 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2012, 11:57 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,970
Default

USE A JUMPER (CHICKLET) TO SHORT those 2 pins on intrusion header

for the smoked connection, you just lost your 5vSB power by shortting 5v to ground

mite be the trace cooked or PSU circuit
Attached Images
 
  #20 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2012, 11:36 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Default

Unlike The god himself, supergroover, i think the idea of the treadstarter is very good. I built my very first pc last night. And it took me about 60 min to find out that only to remove the batteri, dosent help at all at my model with chassis intrusion alert. And i didnt even know what a jumper was! Well, im a new member. And new members will only be told things once. So i guess we wont hear from the allmighty supergrover again. My solution was entering bios setup, and disable the feauture from there.
Anyway! Thanks for the great tread. And if the allmighty one reads this, please feel free to stick to your "only say once" policy.
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 Crashing.*Fixed* TokeR Troubleshooting 7 April 12, 2011 09:33 PM
Still never fixed this problem bvsbutthd101 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 October 24, 2010 09:46 AM
help with SSD speed (fixed) Patramix Storage 8 May 11, 2010 07:22 PM
There i fixed it Arinoth Off Topic 12 March 19, 2010 09:43 PM
Truck's fixed :) cdn_Madrach Off Topic 13 June 19, 2007 06:35 PM