Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2008, 07:02 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alliston, ON
Posts: 75
Default Video card dead? DVI cable issue?

I recently built my friend a nice new computer with all the fixings. However he was having some video issues. I decided it would be a good idea to bring my functioning 8800GTS 640mb card with me to test his system.

I took my card out of my system, put it into a bag (bag was used to ship a mobo so it should be static free) and then placed it in a safe secure box. I never ended up needing to use my card and so I returned it to my computer and fired it up. I plugged in in the power and DVI cables just as before but my monitor now is saying no signal! I tried re-seating the card several times, switched between the two outputs, checked that the fan is still working and nothing helped. I tried putting the card in my second PCI-E slot.

The only thing I can figure is that I somehow messed the card up on removal (static charge but I have never fried anything before with my methods) or that when I moved the case around the DVI cable broke internally? I get nothing on screen (not even a logo screen or BIOS load) at all, but the fan is running and the system sounds as if it is going through all the normal processes. The card has worked fine for a year, no heat issues.

Any thougts? Do DVI cable just break? Does static fry a card that easily?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2008, 07:05 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto area.
Posts: 170
Default

Do you have a VGA cable you can try it with? That's what I would suggest.
__________________
Q6600@3.2ghz
Asus P5N32-E Sli
4gb OCZ Platinum DDR2 @1100mhz
Antec P180
BFG GTX 260 Core 216
Corsair HX-620
Thermaltake Power Express 250W
Raptor150, WD 500gb. WD 300GB
X-Fi Extreme Music
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2008, 10:03 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alliston, ON
Posts: 75
Default

I will have to check to see if I have a vga cable lying around. Anyone ever had a DVI cable just die on them?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2008, 11:43 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,532

My System Specs

Default

Also check to see if you've got "auto detect source" selected on your monitor. Could be it's defaulted to the VGA port.

I suppose it's possible for a cable to go bad, but if you haven't done anything with it other than disconnect it, I'd be looking elsewhere first.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2008, 12:26 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alliston, ON
Posts: 75
Default

Yeah it just makes no sense to me. To have a fully functioning card and monitor, remove card and then put it back in within 6 hours and poof nothing. Plus there seems to be power to the card as the fan on it runs fine. If the card was fried would the mobo (Lanparty Ultra D nf4) beep a code?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2008, 09:55 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alliston, ON
Posts: 75
Default

Update:

Did some testing last night with my old CRT monitor and my DVI cable + adapter. My video card is fine my LCD is not responding to the input. I have done a bit of research and apparently my Viewsonic vx2025wm is bad for having DVI problems.

I will update if I can fix it or if I end up RMA'ing.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2008, 10:28 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I had a similar problem with my LG when I switched to DVI from VGA- I think I reinstalled my video drivers and it worked. You could also try disabling the video adapter, rebooting, then reenabling.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2008, 08:32 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alliston, ON
Posts: 75
Default

Ok so I fixed the problem. Apparently my monitor has problems dropping the DVI connection.

The solution is to plug in both the dvi and vga cable into both the card and monitor.
Power down the comp, turn off the monitor and unplug it from the wall. Push the power button on the monitor to drain any power.
Unplug the vga cable and leave the DVI plugged in
Leave for 5 minutes and then power everything back up. Viola!

However anytime I unplug my cable now I have to do this
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2008, 08:55 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,532

My System Specs

Default

Heh....

Glad to hear you found a fix, but that's a lot of hoops to jump through! I guess you're not going to be disconnecting that monitor without good reason. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2008, 10:02 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matty D View Post
Update:

Did some testing last night with my old CRT monitor and my DVI cable + adapter. My video card is fine my LCD is not responding to the input. I have done a bit of research and apparently my Viewsonic vx2025wm is bad for having DVI problems.

I will update if I can fix it or if I end up RMA'ing.
I also have a Viewsonic vx2025 that will not work on DVI...from new. I have an RMA in place but need the monitor still. At least it has a 3 year warranty.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To buy: AGP video card Moi_meme22 Buy/Sell & Trade 9 March 9, 2008 03:57 PM
Need A Video Card In Gta Area v0maru Buy/Sell & Trade 1 February 28, 2008 11:52 PM
Need new video card v0maru Video Cards 16 February 11, 2008 03:27 PM
I want that Video CARD !! alex336 Video Cards 12 November 21, 2007 03:55 AM
Laptop Video Card Boat Video Cards 3 October 24, 2007 10:20 PM