Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2012, 09:03 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,251

My System Specs

Default Powerline ethernet problems

As the title says, I am having problems with my powerline adaptors dropping the internet connection to my two folding computers. When I originally put them in they worked without any configuration and were stable for over a month. Since I rebuilt the woman's computer two days ago, they have been dropping out multiple times per day. I have tried snooping around in the router settings but I do not know what I am doing so I pretty much left the settings alone. So far, only unplugging and replugging the powerline adaptors starts everything again. Any ideas? ( I have googled this to no satisfaction)
__________________
heatware

Last edited by stoanee; January 13, 2012 at 09:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2012, 10:13 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,386

My System Specs

Default

One thing I know about those poweline ethernet dealies is they have to be on the same phase or they have major problems this isn't normally a problem for a house though. Are they plugged directly into the wall or are you running them through a battery back up or hardcore power bar? Multiple power bars? You might try using a different power bar or plugging them in a different way?
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2012, 10:26 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,251

My System Specs

Default

Plugged directly to wall, will experiment by plugging in different spots.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2012, 01:53 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,251

My System Specs

Default

Plugging in different spots did not help, I swapped out the router to see if it is causing the problems.....
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2012, 06:32 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,386

My System Specs

Default

lemmie know man... cuz the whole powerline thing would be nice. There is a lot of copper simply being wasted in most homes and to utilize it would be great. I know I could use it for a few things.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2012, 08:11 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,251

My System Specs

Default

The weird thing is that it worked great until I upgraded my wife's computer. Sometimes things fail at at the same time as another event happens and that may be what is going on here. The router I am using now seems to be holding things together better, I hope it was the problem. I suspect it was somehow causing the powerline adaptors to lose their connection also. Time will tell.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2012, 08:16 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

Doublecheck the motherboard's ethernet settings, in regards to "Allow Windows to shut down the component when not in use". It's inside the Adapter's settings, in Device Manager.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2012, 05:05 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 85
Default

MY self id trash that junk in 2 sec and hardwire the pile,lol i wonder if someone could hack in to your netork from a diffent house if they used poweline Ethernet adapter,that be a hella funny :D
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless or Powerline Ethernet lcdguy Networking 24 March 4, 2013 03:07 AM
Green Ethernet enaberif Networking 7 November 2, 2011 07:57 AM
Tv + Ethernet + Desktop PC. HELP FrozenNorth Display Units 11 September 11, 2011 05:56 PM
usb to ethernet connection Blu Storage 2 June 8, 2011 11:24 PM
Ethernet port problems Full Speed Troubleshooting 4 December 2, 2010 07:54 AM