Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2008, 07:26 PM
RainMaker's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 41
Question Diagnosing dying video card?

Hello folks! Been checking the site out for a while to my enjoyment but now I have a problem and am finally posting. Anyway, I think my video card might be on its last legs. Is there any way I can test it? Or any signs I am correct?

Thanks,

RainMaker
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2008, 08:16 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,248

My System Specs

Default

When one of mine died it just........wouldn't work. The monitor would garble up after about 5 seconds of power up. Closer inspection revealed that the fans were not working. I popped down to my neighborhood store and picked up a cheapo replacement card and it worked perfectly in the same system. I RMA'd the card and I am happy to say it was replaced. You could try it in another rig to see if it does the same thing or try to stress test it using Ntune or something like that.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2008, 09:05 PM
Cardboard box with DSL's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 170
Default

Run ati tool and scan for artifacts. If your card is messing up bad, artifacts will appear in a short period of time.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2008, 08:28 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Yeah usually you have artifacts if mem is going or no video signal at all.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2008, 09:51 AM
RainMaker's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 41
Default

Okay...newbie questions I guess, but "run ati tool" how do I do that? Is it downloaded or included with the ATI Catalyst control center thingy? And just to add to the mix, has anyone ever heard of a conflict with Java and the display drivers and/or video card? I ask 'cause when I launch Jajuk it really seems to throw the system for a loop!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2008, 10:23 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

ATITool
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To buy: AGP video card Moi_meme22 Buy/Sell & Trade 9 March 9, 2008 03:57 PM
Need A Video Card In Gta Area v0maru Buy/Sell & Trade 1 February 28, 2008 11:52 PM
Need new video card v0maru Video Cards 16 February 11, 2008 03:27 PM
I want that Video CARD !! alex336 Video Cards 12 November 21, 2007 03:55 AM
Help Finding Video Card BALISTX Video Cards 4 April 20, 2007 11:43 PM