Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2008, 04:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 41
Default temps

What kind of temp. ranges should I be getting for the individual parts.... (see rig info below) and what kind of frame rates should I be getting in CoD4 assuming everything is on high @ 1280 x 1240
__________________
EVGA Nforce 780I SLI
Q6600 3.0 GHz (Air)
EVGA 8800 GTS SSC 640 MB
Ultra Black Aluminus ATX Case
2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-8500 1066MHz
Seagate / 320GB / 7200/ SATA-300
OCZ GameXStream 700-Watt
Zalman CNPS9500 LED Copper CPU Heat Sink
Samsung SH-S203B Black SATA DVD+RW W
Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit

Last edited by Kassela; March 11, 2008 at 04:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2008, 04:57 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,727
Default

Well what are your temps? You can use HWmonitor to monitor your temps, and it will show the highest recorded temp too. CPUID
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2008, 11:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 41
Default

These are my current temps on idle (or minimal basic internet browsing etc.)



Im curious if these temps are okay....And could someone tell me how to change the fan settings in the BIOS so when the temps are low the fans slow down and when things heat up the fans speed up? (Could a Screen Shot and some numbers for the temps be given also?)

Thx
__________________
EVGA Nforce 780I SLI
Q6600 3.0 GHz (Air)
EVGA 8800 GTS SSC 640 MB
Ultra Black Aluminus ATX Case
2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-8500 1066MHz
Seagate / 320GB / 7200/ SATA-300
OCZ GameXStream 700-Watt
Zalman CNPS9500 LED Copper CPU Heat Sink
Samsung SH-S203B Black SATA DVD+RW W
Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2008, 11:54 PM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

The idle temperatures are less of a concern than the load temperatures. I normally go by a max of 65C under full load. The GPU isn't as much of a concern as they can get extremely hot (read: 90C+) without damaging them. (If it does get that hot, I would strongly recommend turning up the fan speed, or cleaning out some dust). How the change the fan speed is different from motherboard to motherboard. A minute or two on Google, and this is where the fan settings should be. At the main menu, there is something called PC Health Status. It should be somewhere in there.

And on another note, that 12v is extremely low. Software is never very accurate, but you may want to get yourself a cheap multimeter (or borrow one from a buddy) just to be sure that it is in spec.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2008, 12:25 AM
Moneyless's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 303

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRox View Post
The idle temperatures are less of a concern than the load temperatures. I normally go by a max of 65C under full load. The GPU isn't as much of a concern as they can get extremely hot (read: 90C+) without damaging them. (If it does get that hot, I would strongly recommend turning up the fan speed, or cleaning out some dust). How the change the fan speed is different from motherboard to motherboard. A minute or two on Google, and this is where the fan settings should be. At the main menu, there is something called PC Health Status. It should be somewhere in there.

And on another note, that 12v is extremely low. Software is never very accurate, but you may want to get yourself a cheap multimeter (or borrow one from a buddy) just to be sure that it is in sc.
The software is most likely just reading it wrong. [Example] Everest reads my vcore @ 1.06v when it's set to 1.35000v in BIOS...
__________________
"I hate broccoli
And think it totally sucks
Why is it not meat?"
-Deadpool

Last edited by Moneyless; March 13, 2008 at 12:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2008, 01:32 AM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moneyless View Post
The software is most likely just reading it wrong. [Example] Everest reads my vcore @ 1.06v when it's set to 1.35000v in BIOS...
Yeah... i rarely pay attention to the 12v through SW... they all read mine low, but multi-meter says otherwise.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2008, 10:49 AM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

Seeing as his computer is running, I highly doubt it's really that low. But if he can get a cheap multimeter, or borrow one from a buddy, he might as well check just to be sure.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2008, 02:46 PM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRox View Post
Seeing as his computer is running, I highly doubt it's really that low. But if he can get a cheap multimeter, or borrow one from a buddy, he might as well check just to be sure.
I got mine ~ 2 years ago at Crappy Tire.. it's digital.. $10...works great. People go out and buy this expensive testing equipment(ie.Fluke), which is fine for a HW tester, PC repairman, or extreme overclocker(doing volt-mods)..but a cheap meter is fine the majority of the time.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about my temps crazyazn Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 16 March 3, 2008 01:33 PM
AMD Athlon X2 BE-2300 Temps Ychocky Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 February 7, 2008 02:40 PM
Northbridge Temps bobcat Water Cooling 9 February 6, 2008 05:26 AM
GPU temps Infiniti Water Cooling 1 December 23, 2007 09:10 AM
ram temps? bushwickbill RAM 5 August 31, 2007 05:35 PM