Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 03:45 PM
lightninstrikr's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default SSD and HDD issues

Alright so I recently installed a program called SteamJunction which allows you to have games on a different drive still accessible by your active steam client on another. Roughly 30 minutes after I had switched a game to my HDD and closed the program down I experienced a blue screen. I had my F@H client up and running as well as Steam installing a game while I was watching southpark. The video started to move really slow so I paused it and 5 seconds later the blue screen popped up. I had to go into the repair wizard and restore to a previous state before it would boot windows (I have windows 7 professional 64bit).

Now my HDD is not showing up under my drives. It does not show up in the device manager and although it does show up in Disk Management (and it claims to be healthy) I am not able to partition it. It gives me the error that "The request could not be preformed because of an I/O device error." whether or not I try to initialize it as MBR or GPT. My HDD is a WD 7200rpm 1TB Caviar Black. It also does not show up in the BIOS.

Not only is my SSD not up to normal speed (it is maybe faster than an HDD when loading windows but not by much) but I also can not install anything on it. It keeps giving me the error that it either can't find a Temp folder to put things in or can't create one. I had my browser set to DL things to my HDD but even though I switched it to my SSD it still fails to install as it tried to use a temp folder on my HDD.

I'd appreciate any help you guys can give...
I want my gaming RIG back =(

~LS
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 03:48 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,556

My System Specs

Default

That kind of sounds like a sata controller dying, do you have the B3 revision of your motherboard?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 04:01 PM
lightninstrikr's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

I...don't know what that means...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 04:04 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,140

My System Specs

Default

Look on the box. If it has a B3 sticker, or has B3 as part of the part number, then it's a B3 revision board. The original released P67/Z68 chips had an issue with SATA controllers burning out, and got recalled.

Have you tried moving the HDD SATA cable to a different port?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 04:25 PM
lightninstrikr's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Model number starts with a B6, I have tried to change the port but it simply doesnt detect it at all in a different one. I only have 2 SATA 6g so the other ones I tried are SATA 3g.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 04:50 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,531
Default

Ok.

Don't do anything like gaming or installing programs when folding is running.You're just asking for a bluescreen.

It's possible your problem is purely (corrupt) drivers....

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 04:56 PM
lightninstrikr's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Alright I'll stay away from installing when I'm folding (I never fold when I game). Should I reinstall the MoBo drivers or do I have to find drivers for the SSD/HDD to have them working properly again?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 04:59 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,140

My System Specs

Default

You could try installing the Intel RST drivers.http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Sear...age+Technology
If that doesn't work, then I'd try reinstalling your mobo drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 05:28 PM
lightninstrikr's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

e:\AppData\Local\Temp could not be saved, because an unknown error occurred.

Try saving to a different location.




That is the error I get whenever I try to download something.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 07:22 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,626

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
do you have the B3 revision of your motherboard?
If we are talking about the sig rig, it's a Z68, that question does not apply here. Try a bios reset, switch sata ports around, maybe a bios update if is the case. You can get your gaming rig back, question is are you willing to do a full reinstall of Win on it? Just an idea : try to change the HDD letter in disk management, this is how I got my hdd back after a win7 install that was not seing it anymore, despite being seen in bios and disk management tool.
__________________

Last edited by MARSTG; January 4, 2012 at 07:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LGA 775 Rig Issues Kommie986 Troubleshooting 3 October 13, 2011 04:06 PM
Corsair Issues Warning of Possible H100 Fan Controller Issues SKYMTL Press Releases & Tech News 8 October 1, 2011 04:03 PM
I5 750 issues with OC AbsoluteKyle Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 June 20, 2011 11:50 AM
USB issues JMCD Troubleshooting 3 April 13, 2011 10:17 PM
any one having issues getting wu's? _dangtx_ HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 February 8, 2010 10:22 PM