Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2011, 04:37 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Default Computer died on me!!

First I'll let you guys know what I have:

Power Supply: OCZ Fatal1ty 550W Modular Gaming Power Supply compatible with Intel Sandybridge Core i3 i5 i7 and AMD Phenom

Mobo: ASUS P7P55D LGA 1156 Intel P55 ATX Intel Motherboard

Graphics Card: MSI N260GTX-T2D896-OC GeForce GTX 260 896MB 448-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

Memory: Patriot G Series ‘Sector 5’ Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model PGV34G1333ELK

HD: Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

Drive: LITE-ON Black 4X Blu-ray Reader SATA Model iHOS104-06 - OEM

Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit 1-Pack for System Builders - OEM

CPU: Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield 2.66GHz LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Processor BX80605I5750


Summary:

I was playing a game on my computer the other day and after about an hour of play my computer just shut down. My first thought was that my cpu or graphics card overheated so it shut down. I let it sit for awhile and and tried to turn my computer back on. The computer turned on but the monitor was getting no signal.

I opened up my case and noticed that the fan on my graphics card wasn't running so I assumed my graphics card had tanked. I threw in another graphics card and still nothing. There is a red LED light on the mobo that says "CPU_LED" and I googled this and I found a few people that said their problem was a failed power supply. I thought this was reasonable as that would cause my graphics card to not work since these things take a quiet a bit of juice. I'm in the RMA process to get the power supply exchanged for the new one but I was just posting on here to see if you guys think it could be something else as I need to get this thing fixed as fast as possible. I edit videos for people and web design and I have many projects that need to get done, so I can't go without this thing.


Thanks in advanced for your help!

P.S. Everything is under 2 years old...about 1 1/2 year old hardware. Pretty agitating that stuff is already failing!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2011, 04:44 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

It's the PSU. Ditch the OCZ psu and get a quality one.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2011, 04:49 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Roger...that's what I figured. I would buy another one if I had the cash laying around...for now I guess it's RMA time.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2011, 04:52 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,934
Default

got use of multi-meter to check PSU or a known good PSU

I guess it's RMA time......then sell it
.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2011, 07:20 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Mostly PSU when they are OCZ. When it's overheating problem the computer is more likely to shut down the software that cause it ( load ) or to throttle before it reach problematic level.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2011, 08:09 PM
canada2005's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bowmanville ON
Posts: 59

My System Specs

Default

I had an OCZ 700watt that did this before. Above posters are correct it is the power supply. You get what you pay for with PSU's.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I think my SSD just died Beastylemon Storage 7 September 26, 2011 08:39 AM
New Build just died Steve Jones23 New Builds 11 May 21, 2011 03:37 PM
I think my PSU died...? Pax Power Supplies 6 February 12, 2010 11:38 AM
My mobo died- What do I do? Cowboy CPU's and Motherboards 22 September 7, 2009 04:49 PM
Old rig died on me? Delavan Troubleshooting 5 January 20, 2009 04:48 AM