Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2011, 01:23 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default Computer shutting down

Well My son's computer is shutting down on it's own.
for specs its a 775 3.0GHz with Asus mobo
older nvidia card. My son does not play any hardcore games.

So I turn the system on and with in 10mins it shuts off on its own.
I am thinking its PSU its a 450W. Have own this system for a few yrs.
Maybe its overheating, fans are running, there is no dust in the system as I keep them clean.

Anyone have any idea's
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata , GTX 680, Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H, LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2011, 02:01 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,987

My System Specs

Default

Check the motherboard for blown capacitors
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2011, 02:06 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,261

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake_HT View Post
Check the motherboard for blown capacitors
Arrr, RIP EVGA NF41

Check temps also, if you have a multimeter you can check the volts. Swap in another psu if you have one handy.
Is it actually Shutting down or "hard" off?
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2011, 02:42 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
Arrr, RIP EVGA NF41

Check temps also, if you have a multimeter you can check the volts. Swap in another psu if you have one handy.
Is it actually Shutting down or "hard" off?

Well this is weird, okay so I left the pc on, went to pick kids up from school came back still was on. So thought I had figured it out it being heating problem as I open case right up.
So then I started to play just a online game nothing to stressful just one of the games my son plays online
when he started playing it shut off
not a real hard off, but yea shut right off screen goes blank and pc is off.
might have to go buy a 450w psu tomorrow just for back up
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata , GTX 680, Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H, LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2011, 03:01 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Double-check GPU. Run Afterburner / Kombustor for testing.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2011, 03:22 PM
Photograph's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: T.O.
Posts: 193

My System Specs

Default

I'd also run a memory test to see if there is a bad DIMM in there somewhere, sounds like a similar issue I had with my HTPC that turned out to be some OCZ memory that died.
__________________
HWC Folding Rig: Gigabyte H55N-USB3, Intel Core i3 530 @4.6Ghz, GTX 460
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2011, 06:20 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

Thanks guys will try that out. It seems maybe to be Ram or Card, If i leave pc running with out any thing going on like games, or video. It is fine, but once I put some sort of load on it shuts off.
Will test card then ram.
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata , GTX 680, Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H, LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2011, 09:24 AM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

Well I put my spare ATI X600 card in his case and system shut down, took out the ram and put in a 512 DDR2 stick in one Dimm at a time and system still shut down.
looks like I will have to go buy a PSU and try that out next
since I have no spare PSU.
I looked all over the Asus board and could not see any blown Caps.
So I am hoping its the PSU. My son is not to happy about this.


Here is a Question can ATI drivers shut down the system
like I mean just shut the system off.


Looks like I found the problem
The cooler master hyper 110 HSF one of the fasteners let go and is out of its leg. looks like I will need to replace it.
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata , GTX 680, Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H, LCD
heatware

Last edited by yycraven; December 22, 2011 at 09:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pc shutting down cmac79 Troubleshooting 10 November 1, 2011 07:03 AM
Computer freezing, shutting down and crashing. A_Dude Troubleshooting 12 October 27, 2011 08:05 AM
shutting off and turning on problem Dar_ell Troubleshooting 21 July 3, 2009 07:01 PM
Shutting down two computers with one APC UPS Varroa Networking 4 February 16, 2009 05:41 PM
[H] Consumer and [H] Console shutting down Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 3 April 30, 2007 10:52 AM