Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2011, 07:16 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wolfville, Nova Scotia
Posts: 69

My System Specs

Default No Post

Hey guys

So I just updated my PC. Installed a new motherboard, new PSU, CPU cooler, and added in an SSD. After installing everything, I went to boot up the system to install Windows, but I got nothing. My monitor was showing no signal, and I didn't get any beep codes either. I made sure everything has power, and it appears everything does as there are lights on on the motherboard, and graphics card, and I can feel the HDD spinning. I'm out of ideas. Anyone have any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2011, 07:18 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,536

My System Specs

Default

Reseat your CPU, make sure you didn't bend any pins on the motherboard. If both are fine, take all but one memory module out and try to boot. Still nothing? Try a different stick and keep repeating. If it still wont post with any of the modules in, try re-seating your video card and check for blown caps on your motherboard.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2011, 07:18 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,937
Default

spec's will help of the new stuff

MB in case try outside on cardboard
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2011, 07:26 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wolfville, Nova Scotia
Posts: 69

My System Specs

Default

I'll try reseating the CPU.

Had a i7 920 CPU. New motherboard is an Asus P6X58D-E. New RAM is Corsair Vengeance 12GB, PSU is a Corsair AX750. SSD is a Plextor 128GB, and HDD is a Hitachi 1TB.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2011, 07:44 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wolfville, Nova Scotia
Posts: 69

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
Reseat your CPU, make sure you didn't bend any pins on the motherboard. If both are fine, take all but one memory module out and try to boot. Still nothing? Try a different stick and keep repeating. If it still wont post with any of the modules in, try re-seating your video card and check for blown caps on your motherboard.
Reseated the CPU. Make sure there were no bent pins. Took out all memory modules, and tested each individually with no success. Took the video card out and put it back in, and nothing. No blown caps as well.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2011, 08:02 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,536

My System Specs

Default

Do you have a second computer to test the PSU on, or a second PSU to test on it? Seems like a dead board to me.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2011, 08:17 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,937
Default

check if the MB 4wire plug is in the right half of MB 8 power
Attached Images
   
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2011, 08:20 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wolfville, Nova Scotia
Posts: 69

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
check if the MB 4wire plug is in the right half of MB 8 power
It's a 4+4 pin, so the whole socket is occupied.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2011, 08:22 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,937
Default

what side is the YELLOW wires on top or lower half of plug?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2011, 08:28 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wolfville, Nova Scotia
Posts: 69

My System Specs

Default

The Corsair AX750 uses all black cables, so it's hard to tell which is which. The CPU power connector fits in the socket only one way, which is how it is.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes