Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2011, 01:29 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default gtx 480 causing crashes

Ok like it say i put a gtx 480 into my htpc specs are
2500k
sabertooth
8g's gskill 1600mhz
tx 750 psu
vertex 2 120gb
hdd 750 seagate

well as you can all see there's no reason for not enough juice for the card its weird cause the system works fine without the gtx 480 in it

now i can say this sabertooth board is kinda a pain in the ass as in if things aren't just right it can give you grief but its always been rock solid know i was wonder if it because maybe pcie bandwidth needs to bump up a bit say to 102 or higher but i have only every needed to do this if overclocking and i took the oc off off this system to check stability
any hints or help thanks all
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2011, 01:41 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

First I'd run Furmark on the card to see if it's working properly and is stable.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2011, 01:47 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

ya i was gaming on it just fine but i didn't run fur-mark so i will but i mean i was playing hrs of dirt2 on it and it had no problems at all
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2011, 01:55 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

What driver revision are you running Ginger? And when it crashes is it always doing the same thing or is it crashing randomly?

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2011, 02:21 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

i was rocking 285 but dropped it down to 280 and the same results and it always does the same thing i have had the htpc running all day on a gt 210 adn it always states some about .... well here's a screen shot it rare when i run into some thing i can fix but it happens lol

same thing every time lol
Attached Images
 
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2011, 06:23 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,939
Default

werid its windows WMI components are corrupt

Quote:
Originally Posted by JIII
The error of WMI, (0 80041003) is a known Microsoft error, though not themselves know what the cause.


I have the solution for that:
  1. Start the computer as Administrator.
  2. On the Start menu, in the search field type cmd.
  3. At the top of the menu will display the information cmd.exe, click the button to the right on it, and select Run as administrator.
  4. In the DOS window, it pops up, type the following:
  5. net stop winmgmt
  6. And press Enter
  7. Then select Y to accept, and wait until the service is shut off.
  8. After the services are shut down, type the following:
  9. del c: \ Windows \ System32 \ wbem \ Repository \ *.*
  10. And press Enter
  11. Then select Y to accept.
  12. Type exit and press enter.
  13. Restart the computer.
  14. After the system restarts, wait a few moments.
  15. May appear a few more error messages.
  16. After a few minutes then restart the system again, and this message should not occur again.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2011, 08:22 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

ya thats what i thought it makes no sense at all but will give you cmd lines a shot it just stops the logging of the error no ??? so its not really a fix is it
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2011, 08:25 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

not sure whats going on cause i have the 480 back in the htpc and it hasn't crashed ran furmark since the furmark post and card is rock solid
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2011, 09:24 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default

460 doesnt like that motherboard and its well documented. I had to fix a media server for someone with the same problem. Go get an ATI card and be done with it.

In fact said person paid me a lot of money to fix this problem. It's all over the web and nothing can be done to fix it. Save your hair. Use ATI for that board.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2011, 09:27 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

well thanks but its a 480 not a 460 and i had 2 different 460's run fine on the saber p67 but i was thinking it was something like that lol
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adobe X Causing crashes ZZLEE Troubleshooting 1 June 19, 2011 06:32 AM
Win 7 SP 1 Causing Crashes ( The Register) ZZLEE Troubleshooting 18 March 17, 2011 10:46 AM
WB causing GPU to bend tragd Water Cooling 9 October 11, 2010 01:39 PM
Help please: What's Causing this? mjpd1983 Video Cards 11 June 18, 2010 04:34 PM
My Haf 932 is causing short circuit, Help please kromesta Cases 8 January 26, 2010 06:32 PM